Let Loveliness Live Rent Free in Your Head!

I don’t know about you, but I grew up hearing about the Power of Positive Thinking-type concepts. Some of these were written about in Norman Vincent Peale’s many books. Some were bandied about in my family and at school.

Yet there are days when the frustrations or unforseen events of life seem to have a domino effect. My reactions to some of these thing or to harsh words at times have me overreact. That turns me into a kite with a death wish, crashing to the ground. That of course keeps me from being positive. George Foreman said “Being angry and resentful of someone is like letting them live rent-free in your head”. That is so true! Now I ask you, if you were a landlord, which tenant’s lease would you renew: (1) a tenant who trashed the place, rarely paid the rent on time, and they invited all sorts of creepy friends over at all hours for wild parties—and they frightened the neighbors so much they moved out? or (2) a tenant who took care of the place and even noticed if litter was elsewhere on the property and picked it up, and always paid on time?

Of course you would pick the second tenant and gladly renew his/her lease. Yet we allow bad tenants to move into our heads. Or at least at times I do! SOOOOO~in the past few weeks I have given some of those interlopers the boot from my head and heart. Oh, some of those creepy folks sneak back in….but eventually I can hear them and smell them. I do not evict them all by myself~I ask God to evict them. After all, He is WAY stronger!!

Controlling my emotions and my actions and reactions to things is something I can do for me. Of course, some days I succeed and some days I fall short. But lately I have asked God to help me to NOT let bad tenants live in my mind and heart.

Each day, here in my desert home, at some point during the day (and first thing in the morning and last thing at night) I mentally head to the shore and hop in the boat with Him. Come row with Him today. There is always room for more people in His boat.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Let Loveliness Live Rent Free in Your Head!

  1. fgassette says:

    I love your post today and I say no vacancies here. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    OH Sis! This is SO SO wonderful–what a great word for me, such a visual of “good tenant vs bad tenant”–now THAT, I can wrap my head around!! I’m with you–hoppin’ in the boat, and rowin’ with Jesus–ahhh, I feel more relaxed already! God bless you abundantly–much love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I love to picture me and Jesus by the water or on the water, or walking in the forest, or our feet up by a campfire…sigh. I guess because I have so many delightful love-filled times in those places! May God POUR out His blessings upon you—love, sis Kate

  3. fiztrainer says:

    Incredibly motivating. Totally got me to throwing out some unwanted tenants. ;D

  4. Gilly Gee says:

    When someone does us harm they hurt us in that moment, if we continue to hold onto that harm we are causing ourselves the hurt while they have moved on and forgot all about it.

  5. This is so beautifully written, and so wonderfully conceived, Kate. You just shared the secret to a peaceful life! Debra

  6. Your thoughts always lovingly embrace my mind…they are so very soothing and inspiring…have a very blessed and beautiful day!

  7. joseyphina says:

    Thank you for this timely message, Kate. It has really blessed me.

  8. mlissabeth says:

    i love the mental visuals! I have to take out the trash. :0)

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Go for it! Getting all the garbage out frees up so much space, doesn’t it? And it is especially grand when that new space can be filled with love and loveliness ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

