Beautiful Bridges to Zoom Across

I am reflective today once again. Tomorrow is my birthday, and so it is appropriate for me to reflect upon the past year and look to my future. A year ago I was helping my son recover from an April ICU stay. This year we are zooming towards some potential big changes. The shape of our family may very well change, or at least how it functions. That is why I chose a photo that only shows part of the journey.

In life, we do not get to see the potential outcome of our decision so that we are less hesitant to make a choice and launch. We must step forward boldly, holding hands with God, not knowing the outcome, only knowing His guidance. In looking back over the last year I know that that is how I have lived. How do I get courageous? I will tell you. some of the best things in this world were done by people who were scared by moved forward anyway.

There is so much joy in that. There is joy in ‘taking the hill’. You get a new view along the way. Sometimes there are delays specifically so that you can catch your breath and evaluate. Through my blog and yours I have discovered and learned all kinds of things. I have formed friendships, twin-ships, ….you know, family. I have prayer partners and I am grateful for that.

So as I cross my bridge of today into tomorrow I can see life stretching before me. There are hills and valleys. There are streams, gravel covered paths that could be treacherous, gorgeous meadows, and forests filled with chirping birds and His peaceful voice. All of life urges me “walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart and you’ll never walk alone”. By this time next year I will still be following He who makes everything possible. Perhaps I will be curled up with a copy of the book I am writing.

Regardless of what is headed my way~it comforts me and fills me with joy that I have so many simple blessings in my life. I thank you for being here at Believe Anyway, and I thank you for Β your wonderful blogs and the gift that you are. Today will be wonderful and tomorrow begins a new chapter; I am, as ever, a perennial optimist.

Our lives are a cornucopia of blessings.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Beautiful Bridges to Zoom Across

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    Yes…there’s joy in taking the hill! Great word! Blessed and happy birthday, Kate!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      There surely is ~ ESPECIALLY when you have finished the climb. During the climb there are times I grumble and resist. At the top of the hill I am always glad I persisted. thanks Susan!

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Hope you have a very happy birthday πŸ™‚

  3. Gilly Gee says:

    Just in case I’m not around tomorrow I hope you have a lovely birthday and a great year ahead πŸ™‚

  4. dogear6 says:

    This is a great post for you to bookmark and reread on days you feel discouraged.

    Happy birthday!

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    This is wonderful, yet again, Kate! I love the word “bold” (boldly, boldness)–especially in reference to stepping out in our faith; it truly does make for a thrilling adventure! God bless you–and you might want to look in your email tomorrow…love, sis Caddo

  6. dorannrule says:

    Happy Birthday Kate!

  7. Have a happy and blessed birthday tomorrow Kate!

  8. SmallHouseBigGarden says:

    First off…..happy birthday!!!!
    I love love LOVE your statement “some of the best things in the world were done by people who were scared but moved forward anyway.”. So true and also so brillaintly expressed!!
    Do something fun to celebrate your special day today!

  9. Happy birthday Kate and here’s to crossing bridges, one at a time. The view is great from up there..

  10. niasunset says:

    Happy Birthday dear Kate, I hope you had a nice birthday. Blessing and Happiness, Thanks and Love, nia

Leave a Reply

