All I Ask Is A Tall Ship

I have posted this poem before. Forgive me for being repetitive. But you see, I find this poem to be reassuring, comforting, inspiring~and just so lovely. It is like parts of some movies that make yo smile so big and weep at the same time.

It grabs me right away. “I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,”

I picture me running like a crazy nut, down the boardwalk, zooming down the beach to the shore, jumping on the boat, loosening the moorings, grabbing the ropes, turning the sails and zooming out to sea. Of course I do not actually know how to sail, but my family did boat when I was a kid. A little motorboat that we water skied behind.

So the release I feel when I am on the water is special. I hope you are feeling a lovely feeling today.

user img

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull’s way and the whale’s way, where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Writing and Literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to All I Ask Is A Tall Ship

  1. dorannrule says:

    Oh yes, it’s a good one Kate. I love the sea as well and often long to be there. This poem captures the feelings of freedom and the “gull’s way” and the “vagrant gypsy life.” It’s a wonderful, momentary respite and I can understand why you love it. Thanks for sharing it again.

  2. mlissabeth says:

    The rhythm of the lines make me think of the rocking waves on a boat. A nice memory, as we had a small motorboat when I was young. Thanks!

  3. Julie Church says:

    I enjoyed your poem, it was like peeking into my husbands soul. He comes from a very long line of seamen, captains, whalers, oyster-men, etc., it’s in his blood on both sides of his family. And the best pictures I have ever taken of him have been when he is on the water. He comes alive.
    So, thank you for sharing it!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh gosh I can relate to that part of him. I feel the same way when I am on or near the water. There is something about it that just edifies and thrills me.

      • Julie Church says:

        My husband married a land lover, I spent a lot of time in the mountains of California as a child and going there is like the ocean is for my husband, since we live along the coast of Connecticut, his is much closer.
        Thanks again!

  4. Gilly Gee says:

    Well I missed it the first time so I’m happy you have posted it again. Lovely!

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    I can hear my beloved English teacher reading this, Kate–his voice sounded so reverent! And after reading this again, these words came to me: “Water, water everywhere–and nary a drop to drink”. God bless you dear heart–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Wasn’t it wonderful when our teachers read to us? And the Rime of the Ancient Mariner was one of my dad’s favorites. He would often recite the water water everywhere verses. God bless you too my dear Caddo.

Leave a Reply

