Deeply Rooted in Christ

“Let your roots grow down into Him and draw up nourishment from Him, so you will grow in faith, strong and vigorous in the truth you were taught”~ Colossians 2:7

People have asked me throughout my life how I have endured some of the difficulties that have come my way. For me, it is my faith in God. Despite difficulties I cling to Him. When we lost our daughter at 10 months of age, people warned us that 80% of marriages that suffer the loss of a child do not endure. We were determined not to be part of that statistic. We clung to our faith. I do not know how we could have remained steadfast in our love, and stayed optimistic without our faith.

This is what faith that is deeply rooted has helped me do: endure with joy and confidence. By endure I don’t just mean putting up with it while rolling my eyes, stomping my foot, crossing my arms and whining about the unfairness of life. I mean knowing that despite the raging storms that there WILL be a rainbow. Those deep roots keep me from being toppled and conquered by winds, gossip, negativity, cruelty, hardship, illness, financial difficulties, bullying, false teachings, or anything else. I do not mean that those things do not hurt my heart and make me weep. Far from it, actually.

But here is the difference. Sooner or later, I realize that despite whatever the loss is, I still have my Best Friend. He is there. He will walk with me. He recognizes my inner beauty and knows my heart. The world can bend me and even knock some branches off of my trunk. Tree branch off the road at the fairgrounds

But my roots in Him are deep, deep, deep. His words and the loving people He puts in my path water me with the water of love. Even when the harshness of the world makes me feel unsafe or unloved or unlovable, I always end up remembering: I am rooted in Him.

Harsh times, droughts, storms all end. They do. He promised a rainbow. He promises eternity. The path to Him leads to Him.[“Show me the path where I should walk, O Lord; point out the right road for me to follow”~ Psalm 25:4].

He takes most of us on the scenic route~and it involves trials, tribulations, triumphs, sorrow and incredible joy. As Barbara Walters says “Take a little time to enjoy the view”.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Scripture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Deeply Rooted in Christ

  1. A precious testimony of lasting, enduring faith! Thank you for sharing, Kate!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    This is So uplifting and affirming, Kate–maybe your best post ever. I can print it out to keep, right?? You continue to be our shining example of a hero: “ordinary people who do extraordinary things”–or perhaps, “who have extraordinary faith”. I may not end up doing “great things”–but I sure want to be known as a woman of “extraordinary faith”. What you describe is a faith-relationship with Jesus–one that you work on and build, and tend to, the same as you do with others. That’s the key!! God bless you, Sis, abundantly–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Of course you can print it out or re-blog it or whatever. You do great things each day when you share your Spirit-filled poetry. You are a faith=filled friend. God surrounds us each day with love and gifts us with bearers of love, too. God bless you, too -sis,Kate

  3. misswhiplash says:

    I agree with that 100% Faith in Him is everything. He will never fail you, desert you or leave you.
    well said Kate!

  4. Beautiful sentiments and I completely agree. Thanks Kate!

  5. jelillie says:

    “By endure I don’t just mean putting up with it while rolling my eyes, stomping my foot, crossing my arms and whining about the unfairness of life. I mean knowing that despite the raging storms that there WILL be a rainbow.” This is the triumph of Christianity. God holds us when we cry and then takes us to new heights of joy if we allow Him to! Thanks Kate!

  6. So mature! A long ways from the gal who cried when cupid didn’t come! 😉 Love you so.

  7. Caddo Veil says:

    Reblogged this on Caddo Veil and commented:
    This word from a dear sister, Kate, was deeply affirming and encouraging to me–I pray with confidence that it will equally bless all of you. love, Caddo

    • iamnotshe says:

      Hello Kate and Caddo. You are an inspiration. I don’t know how you don’t stomp around a bit with the tragedies you’ve endured 😉 Love to you, Melis

  8. Thanks for sharing this post. – Inspiring! I like this passage of words “He takes most of us on the scenic route~and it involves trials, tribulations, triumphs, sorrow and incredible joy. As Barbara Walters says “Take a little time to enjoy the view”.

  9. Lady Deidre says:

    I enjoyed your inspirational post!
    God Bless you & yours!

  10. Sunshine says:

    Thank you for a great read, Kate.
    (Just had a visit with sis, Caddo, and glad she shared your post.)
    ~abundant blessings…

Leave a Reply

