Two weeks to form a new habit?

I have often heard it takes two weeks to form a new habit. It takes me longer than that to change my mindset. I have been on my lifestyle change in eating and exercising for 18 whole days. I have eaten correctly every day (except for going a bit crazy on one dinner out when a friend was in town). I have exercised every day but the day she was in town. In the case of that day, I made up for the missing exercise and the excess food the very next day. I still have a mountain in front of me.

Do I believe these changes have become a permanent part of my psyche at this point? Not by a long stretch. My determination to stick to it is unflagging. I have my determination to rediscover the me that loves to have a flying heart when it comes to this part of my life. I can no longer compartmentalize~it is too hard and is an unsuccessful strategy. Ā I have come upon some of the reasons behind my habit of hiding behind my weight, and my tendency to purposely NOT exercise. At some point I will no doubt blog about the underlying “stuff” but not yet. I need to analyze it first—and get the mental infection OUT! How?

First I have to examine those things fully and through prayer and changing that mindset, make new ways. I cannot fall down the precipice again! But know this if you find yourself tripping over the same impediments. God is there in your sorrow, He awaits to help you with His outstretched hand. He will lift you above the things that broke or break your heart. You are not alone.

“Do not be afraid, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will uphold you with my victorious right hand”.


Isaiah 41:30

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Health and exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Two weeks to form a new habit?

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, two weeks doesn’t seem long enough to form a new habit. I’d say two months šŸ™‚

  2. Ha. I’d heard it was 3 weeks to form a new habit, and the rest of your life to prove you actually did form it in the allotted 3 weeks. šŸ˜€
    I know one thing — if it take year to become entrenched in a bad habit, it usually take the same number of months to see progress in overcoming it. So a 2 year habit of overeating, for instance, shoudl take 2 months to see and feel real progress.
    I think it’s all conjecture, though, administered by trainers, to make us not give up in 2 days! :=|

  3. misswhiplash says:

    It is great to see that you are using the word DETERMINATION..this is what it is all about and that is what will make you succeed…keep it up!

  4. Susan Michaels says:

    This is called loving yourself as God loves you! Awesome, Kate! You go, girl!

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    I am applauding (from a comfy chair, getting ready to eat a deadly meal of country gravy, cube steak and mashed potatoes) you, dear Sis Kate–you are always our Best Example! And weeping as my heart is touched by your reminder of God’s loving promises–He is always with us, and always FOR us! God bless you so abundantly–love, sis Caddo

  6. reneeboomer says:

    Go Kate! Go! You do know if we lived closer I would grab you and take you to the GYM with me. It just may surprise you that you would be hooked in no time like me. I am proud of YOU! šŸ™‚ hugs. Renee

Leave a Reply

