Joy Is My Oasis

I live in a desert city. Yet there are small man made lakes around the area. Seeing the water as I make my way around town refreshes me. I have always loved the water. I think my favorite water-based critter is the bottle nose dolphin. They make me happy because they laugh. How can you not like them, right?

Despite the turmoil I see in the world around me, I know that people with joyful, peaceful spirits impact us all each day. Joy and optimism spread, too; not just bitterness and pessimism. Sooner or later, good triumphs over evil. God triumphs over Satan. When people realize that joyfulness and kindness will be accepted and not ridiculed, they will get brave. You see, we all long for belonging and acceptance. Maslow told us that with his hierarchy of needs.

But this is more than a theory for me. I am braver than many when it comes to opening myself up to potential ridicule. In classes I never hesitated to ask a question or offer an answer. I didn’t really care if someone made fun of me. Well, actually I cared some, and even cried if I was picked on (often later). But I was not about to refrain from asking a question or offering an answer. I knew that there was probably at least one other person that was afraid to do the same thing.

Each person each of us encounters that we then treat with love, joy, compassion, is affected. They are changed by our presence. Pretty soon little droplets of the water of human kindness becomes a glorious lake.  So you see~your kindnesses to me get passed on and become part of my lake. Thank you for your nourishing and compassionate ways. Have a lovely day.    

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Joy Is My Oasis

  1. misswhiplash says:

    its a pleasure Kate to spread a little happiness……do I dare ask? How is the ‘you know what’ coming along? have you found any problems?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      love it, the “you-know what”..It is coming along GREAT. I have stuck with it SO FAR. trying to recognize the urges for self-sabotage. Have determined some of the big underlying reasons that I headed down this ‘hide behind the weight and resist exercise’ path. So I have been examining some of that. Will blog about that part when I am further along. Have met my weight targets so far and then some. Staying non-specific on that front to avoid self-sabotage. keep praying—i am getting at a part of my life that I had compartmentalized…..full authenticity is the goal, as always.

  2. Gilly Gee says:

    Dear Kate what a lovely lady you are, thank you 🙂

  3. As always, you share with such intimacy. You share between friends. That’s a lovely quality. Hope you’re doing well! Debra

  4. Joy is also our strength, and when we spread joy, we strengthen each other. It is so contagious, too. I love joy. Love you, too! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      love you back, sweet and wonderful twin. your strength and joy are so contagious—and your affirmation in the TRUTH gives strength and guidance. love you ❤

  5. Right on! Joy always makes an entrance. Gotta love it! 🙂

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    I love the ripple effect, Kate–and I’m continually bathed and refreshed here, amid our loving community; and abundantly/joyfully blessed to be a blessing wherever I can. The new child inside me says: “it’s WAY Fun!!” God bless you Big–love, sis Caddo

Leave a Reply

