Unflagging In My Determination Even After July 4th

Well, I am happy to say that I made it through a potluck gathering on the 4th and still stuck to my plan. Part of my dedication comes from the simple concept of keeping a written (in a notebook) log. This so far keeps me on track. When you fight an addiction to a bad habit (for me a sweet tooth and snack tooth) it helps to have to face it. Of course, also logging the calorie count makes me have to face the consequence of indulging.

Here is another key for me. I still make sure to have my proteins, fruits, veggies, and healthy grains. There was a time where if I indulged in a large number of calories of cookies, for instance, that I would let those numerous calories be my total intake for the day. Yeh—ThAT was a healthy approach! As I said, this time it is my mind and heart that are changing. To honor God, I must honor His creation. I am one of His creations, so I must do honorable things for my body. It is one of my gifts back to Him. And so, today I am at day   number 10.

I know there are underlying reasons for how I began to hide behind the weight. I am getting at those reasons through reflection and prayer. I know that addressing those things will be part of my healing~and I have already begun that part too. You see, authenticity is necessary to the core of my being. I know that the part of me that has not yet healed will heal, because I am working on that “infection” for lack of a better term!!

I know to the core of my being that I will continue to dedicate this effort to He who loves me. I am grateful for your encouragement~and I will post later today about other things in life besides this!!

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Unflagging In My Determination Even After July 4th

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    Very inspiring, Kate! I’m so proud of you and your focus and resolve in faith! This reminds me to ask…will you be sharing any healthy recipes? Here’s a quick n’ easy summer salad I make that is nutritious and low cal: 1 c. each of: cubed roast chicken, cucumber, watermelon; 1/4 c. sliced red onion; 1/2 c. low fat feta cheese, 2 TBSP Kraft Balsamic salad dressing, dash of lime, ground black pepper and sea salt to taste! 🙂 (Serves 2-4) Enjoy!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I will be sharing some recipes—and/or my meal plans. But I need to get the habits more ingrained first! love the sound of that recipe you shared! I often do 2 cups of mixed greens, 1/2 cup or more cubed cooked meat or salmon, some berries if i have them, and maybe a tablespoon of granola or sunflower seeds, all tossed together with a dressing my hubby makes of balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and some herbs and spices. Sometimes I add a bit of goat cheese to the salad, too.

  2. Keep up the Great work Kate both on your diet sheet and on the your wonderful posts.. Hope you had a Great 4th July.. Love and Blessings. Sue x

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I had a wonderful July 4th and things are going swimmingly. Hope you are doing well–sorry i missed this comment a few weeks ago. love and blessings back–kate

  3. I am so happy for you, dearest Kate! Overcoming crowds of people while eating can be the big test. Sounds as if you passed. 🙂

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    You continue to be a true, shining example for us, Kate–I appreciate you so much. God bless you big–love, sis Caddo

  5. If you can make it through a potluck, you are off to a very good start! Keep it up, Kate! Good for you! Debra

  6. My admiriation and adoration sweetie. I am pulling for you as your cheering squad. You can do this too!! I love that you are looking at the whole of it all. Holistically is the really the lasting way. Hang in there!

    Had to add that I love that you are honoring the vessel the Lord lent you. God’s Blessing abound!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Toni! Bit by bit, moment by moment. Making little changes. Bit by bit and moment, examining my heart and mind to determine why I needed to hide behind the weight. That will be the bigger honor—to root out the infection and hand that part over to the Grand Healer. Thanks for your kindness and support.

Leave a Reply

