Mt. Everest Week of Challenges and My Base Camp

I am no mountain climber, so the odds of me literally climbing Mt. Everest are slim to none. No, my mountains are the challenges I have undergone throughout my life. Just like you, my challenges have been many. I have read about and seen programs about the process of climbing Mt. Everest. It is not a task one undergoes alone. You do it with a group (typically with an expert guide). You plan way ahead and map out your supplies. You follow the weather patterns, and climb at the most ideal time possible. 

When underway, there are several base camps that you, your support team, and fellow climbers establish. Why do you suppose that is?Either circumstances or logical thinking tell you that you must stop and rest, stop and gather strength, if one hopes to survive the journey and reach the summit successfully.  

I know ALL of this. Yet I am surprised each and every time that I undergo my own Mt.Everests that I get exhausted and must stop and rest. I wonder (as if I just helicoptered into my own life from another planet) why I am worn down and lack some luster. Gosh, why would I be tired? I never plan for setting up my own base camp. I just eventually collapse.

Here is the truly ridiculous part. Each time I am surprised that collapse mode sets in!! However, I am gathering wisdom after all. In years gone by I wouldn’t even necessarily let anyone know that I was undergoing challenges. Now I am different. when the challenges come and they look bigger than big, I pray. I then turn to people who are supportive. These strategies buoy me and give me strength and endurance.

The past 7 days have been stressful and scary. My son’s feet and toes still aren’t better—but they are improving in tiny increments. The doc thought he had Reynaud’s: but after countless prayers zoomed heavenward, when we went to another doc the next day, he saw no indication of Reynaud’s.

So, all along this Everest journey this week, my base camps have been populated by love, support, warmth, advice, suggestions, shared experiences. Know that I linger in these base camps of love and care. They have been a balm for my fear and sorrow. I thank you so very much. I continue my climb through my multi-summitted Everest.  

Today I am exhausted—-but metaphorically snuggling in a comforting blanket with my hands wrapped around a steaming mug of cocoa. Which is a funny metaphor for an AZ day that will top the thermometer at about 113 degrees Fahrenheit!

Thank you for your prayers, support, and ongoing love. This peaceful photo was taken by a friend of mine. It captures the peacefulness that your prayerful support and love have instilled in my heart. You are all in my base camp. Thank you for having my back this week.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mt. Everest Week of Challenges and My Base Camp

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    What a true analogy to life challenges…And how good of God to teach us to rest along the way. Lifting you all in prayer. And hey! Jesus is too! 🙂 “He ever lives to intercede for us…” (Hebrews 7:25)

    • Kate Kresse says:

      He is our guide through it all, isn’t He? Believe me, when I don’t get the message to rest along the way, I soon reach collapse mode. Then I rest, for sure. Thank yo for the prayers and intercessions. God bless you!

  2. AlohaKarina says:

    We’ve always got your back. Remember to breathe…the air is a bit thin up on Everest!

  3. fgassette says:

    A beautiful and open post. Thank you for sharing your inner most thoughts. God puts people in our lives for a reason or a season. Continuing to life your family up in prayer until your complete breakthrough is seen. It’s there but not visible yet. KEEP BELIEVING.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. Awww, Kate, you know we love ya’!

  5. Patricia says:

    The world tells us to be independent, self sufficient, rely only on ourselves, that it is weak to ask for or need help. But Jesus knows better. Why would he send us His Comforter and make His church a family if we could be content and whole…alone and on our own?

  6. Mike Fisk says:

    Great analogy Kate. Life does resemble mountain climbing in many ways and while the view on top is fantastic the growth takes place in the valley. Continuing to pray for your son and family. ~Mike

  7. Caddo Veil says:

    This is very true, very real–and how wonderful that we have the blessing of a loving and PRAYING community. Much love to you, Kate–sis Caddo

  8. misswhiplash says:

    whatever mountain we climb
    we do it one step at a time

    How is your Mum Kate?

  9. niasunset says:

    In my dreams I am a climber… and my dream mountain is Himalayas… Thank you dear Kate, this was so beautiful sharing and writing… I wish you to have a nice weekend, Blessing and Happiness, love, nia

  10. The base camp and Everest analogy is perfect! Great metaphors to hold onto for all of us. You’re right…we all have struggles going on in our lives, but sometimes things cry out with “URGENT” and I think that’s where you’ve been the past few weeks, beginning with your mom! It’s a privilege to be on your mountain climbing crew, and I’ll gladly be in the base camp, Kate! Debra

  11. God is great! Prayers and blessings, Kate.

  12. Gilly Gee says:

    Kate sometimes if we don’t listen to our bodies our bodies take charge and force us to, take care honey, hugs.

  13. Maria Tatham says:

    Kate, how wise to picture your ordeal in this way for us! It is a true picture. Praying for you – thank you!
    In His love, Maria

Leave a Reply

