The Only Way to Live

“The only way to live is to accept each minute as an unrepeatable miracle, which is exactly what it is: a miracle and unrepeatable” ~ Storm Jameson

Working with students and communicating with people in general I often get the sense that people are precious and moments are special. It is easy to fall into the trap that each day or tutoring session or conversation is just like the past ones and will be just like the future ones.

But then I try hard to remember to be completely in the exact moment. I try to see, really see the other person. When I do that, i can then pour my heart and soul into the moment. I don’t mean this in a macabre sense; but we do not know how much time we have with each other. By that I mean~ “if you knew that this was your last conversation ever with someone, or the last chance to sit and share a meal with someone, or your last chance to share your words or photos in your blog, what would you do or say”? What do you want that person to really, really know~about how you feel about that person, how you view life, what is important, etc.?

Here is my perspective. When my son was a little guy we had bedtime rituals after bathtime. I would sit and read him a story—he would sit on my lap or snuggle close. It was a sweet time. Then we’d head to his room, I would tuck him in and sing two songs to him…(he always wanted ‘Hush little baby’ and Silent Night (yes, year round). Then we’d pray, and he’d fall sweetly to sleep. This went on for a couple of years really~and was how he sweetly wanted to end his day. All of a sudden, one night, after stories he asked if we could pray before he went to his room; we did. Then he hugged and kissed us goodnight and went to bed without the songs etc. I remember thinking “I wish I had known last night was the last time we’d have the whole tradition….I would have remembered to treasure it!” So since then, I have tried to be mindful.

Moments and days are precious….it is the only way to live! Our days are filled with moments that we can treasure! Love those moments~~they are miraculous and unrepeatable. I love that word unrepeatable!! All those miraculous unrepeatable moments are gifts.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Only Way to Live

  1. Wow. So true. I loved this, imagining your little guy, who isn’t so very little any more, schnuggling with you, still damp and fragrant from the bath, delighting in what only a mama can give . . . You did live in the moment. You lived it to the full. Good job!

  2. AlohaKarina says:

    I’m always acutely aware of stuff like this. After September 11, and my father-in-law’s 26-day battle with Pancreatic Cancer, I’ve learned to never take anything for granted. Cherish it while you can!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh my~ 26 days…..wow Karina…..so quick, so difficult…..how difficult. i hope that you have many miraculous moments this weekend.

      • AlohaKarina says:

        Thanks. We’ll be celebrating Memorial Day at a parade, and of course decorating the house to the hilt. My family is all former and retired military, as was my father-in-law. We will enjoy the weekend and remember their sacrifices. Have a great weekend!

  3. fiztrainer says:

    This is so true. Isn’t it amazing how it seems to take a loss on some level to make us really understand the power of what you’re saying here. My husband lost both his parents within a year of each other. This was the “aha” moment that made me truly understand how fragile and precious every moment in life is. It’s changed the way I approach life. Thanks for such a beautiful reminder. 😀

    • Kate Kresse says:

      boy oh boy would that ever do it! We, too, had a string of years with loss. For many consecutive years we had a death. One year we finally went all 365 days with no one dying. As we approached mindnight on New Year’s Eve we went to the front door, opened it, and hollered out “Alleluia”! we joked that we at that point lost our membership in the Death of the Year Club.

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    WOW, Kate. If this were to be our last communication, I would want you to know how very much you have enriched my life–thank you, God bless you abundantly. Have a great weekend–what’s on the menu?? much love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      you have a great weekend too! Tonight—salmon and kale…..tomorrow and the rest—don’t know yet…..made an awesome recipe last weekend—going to try to post it this weekend. it was really tasty!

  5. hugmamma says:

    Such a lovely, timeless treasure. Hugs for sharing a special moment, one that obviously lives on in your heart. Aren’t we fortunate to have these precious mommy memories? 😉

  6. What a very special reminder, Kate. I don’t know too many people who can say they are mindful with the same dedication to others that you so readily exhibit. The story about your son’s bedtime rituals hits home! In adjusting to my father’s illness and the changes that have come into our family as a result, I’ve gone back in my mind and spent some time remembering the last time we were all together and he was strong. My mind is kind of right there with what you’re talking about. We need to truly savor even the ordinary! Thank you…Debra

Leave a Reply

