What is a Friend?

What does a friend mean to you? This is how I define friendship:

A friend is someone who stands in the trenches with you when things get tough. A friend is someone who loves you at your finest and weakest hour. A friend is someone who prays for you and loves you no matter what. Friends do not judge you negatively, and they do not judge your family negatively either. Friends do not call you at the last minute to invite your child to a birthday party and explain they are only inviting your child because someone else cancelled and they want the numbers to come out even. (yeh, really happened). Friends DO stand by you when you and your family are going through a bad time. They remain your friend. They do not think less of you. They realize that since you are going through a bad time you need extra emotional support. They tell you you are the same lovable wonderful person, and that things will get better. They are there for you. They stand by you. They celebrate your friendship. They say they will pray for you and they do pray for you. They laugh with you and help you laugh at life. When they are guests in your home they say wonderful things about you, the food, your home, your family…… They are committed to the friendship. They understand when you neglect them, and you understand when they neglect you…..when you have been apart for years and have the blessing to be together again—it is as though you were apart for only 5 minutes or so. To a friend you are always worth it, worth it, worth it……Raise a glass to true friendship. They enrich us, embolden us, encourage us, and laugh with us.

Of course, the ultimate friend for me is God Himself. He is always there, always stands in the trenches with me, lived for me, died for me, rose for me. The Creator is the one who sent me my friends and reminds me to be a welcoming friend.

What comes to mind for you when you hear the word friend?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What is a Friend?

  1. Oh, Kate, your definition is perfect. No more “whats” come to my mind, but I can think of a “who” or two, and one of them is you. 🙂 Love ya.

  2. misswhiplash says:

    A good read and a great post..I have now come to the conclusion that my husband is not my friend as he does not possess the qualities that define a good friend

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks for the praise……but i fear that i have drawn to limited a definition of a good friend……i am guessing that he has constancy and steadfastness……love to you today.

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I love what you said about God being the one who sends friends–some of them are not meant to last, maybe to teach us something, but I so want to keep a welcoming heart for all those He sends to me (some are definitely “angels unaware”!). Glad to count you among my sister-friends, Kate! God bless you abundantly today. love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i have loved the expression “angels unaware” ever since I read the book “Angel Unaware” by Dale Evans [wife of Roy Rogers]. are you familiar with it? You most definitely have a welcoming heart! glad to count you among my sister friends too, dear one..

      • Caddo Veil says:

        Yes, I first knew of Dale’s book when I went to Summer Bible Camp with 2 jr high friends! That was where and when I “officially” got saved!

  4. My closest friends are definitely the ones who understand my weaknesses and don’t hold them against me. They allow for space to grow between us during exceptionally busy times and just appreciate that we can always pick up where we last left off. And I do believe that the only one to fill in all the gaps our earthly friends are going to naturally leave, is indeed the Lord. You are so right to point that out! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It is so miraculous when friendships happen isn’t it? and the gaps our friends fill and that God fills just makes the cathedral of our lives ever so wondrous. Thanks, Debra!

  5. True friends are few and far in between. But the casual friend is a welcome as well.
    “He who has friends, has none to spare.”

  6. joseyphina says:

    Very touched. We should all strive to be good friends to each other.

Leave a Reply

