Improve All Your Tomorrows

“What you do today can improve all your tomorrows.”~ Ralph Marston.

Some days and weeks are so busy for me. This month has been a series of days like that. As a result I have lost my plan! I drive from student to student and help them study. I haven’t had the time or energy to plan in advance. Certainly things around the house are ridiculously behind. I came to realize this morning that my days are driving me. That happens sometimes even if I do take the time to ‘give my day to God when I awaken’. Do you ever fall into the trap where you are just ‘taking care of business and getting stuff done’ without having an overall strategic plan?

I know better than to do that. I have worked for businesses and managers that did that, and couldn’t understand why they didn’t take time to manage a plan and even if they did make a plan, they didn’t regularly evaluate whether or not they were meeting their plan and to adjust accordingly. I was younger than and so full of plans and dreams. I didn’t know about how life, family, and home responsibilities can get you running in circles, and being reactive instead of proactive.

So today I truly hope to make some of my lists and plans and actually make a SHORT (translation: able to be completed in one day) list of things to do. Yes, make a master list of all the stuff that needs to eventually happen. But then lay them out in a plan so that I assign them a priority and perhaps assign them a specific day. I do that with potential blog posts sometimes. I wish I thought strategically every day. I used to do that. As I re-learn how to do that, I may post regular ‘how-to’s’ about it. Depending on the feedback from that, it may be a regular thing here on my blog. Just something I am considering. Being a gal with a plan puts me in a skipping mood; especially when that plan is in God’s plan.

“What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals”. Henry David Thoreau

By following God’s path for me (becoming more strategic and proactive) I can then be more at His beck and call. And in formulating my strategic plan, and implementing it into daily plans, I do not mean solely a list of chores. I want it to encompass all aspects of my life. To do that, with prayerful consideration and listening for God’s guidance, is my fond hope. ย For me that is like a walk in a forest and a walk on the beach, all at the same time. I will keep you posted.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Improve All Your Tomorrows

  1. niasunset says:

    This is great message and so beautiful. Thank you dear Kate, love, nia

  2. fgassette says:

    I agree. Good message that we all can identify with.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I like the “skipping mood” part, Kate!

  4. reneeboomer says:

    Love this post! Thank you. hugs. Renee ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hi Kate, nice to meet you. Thanks for following my blog, 8kidsandabusiness I appreciate it and am thrilled to have you along. I’ve been browsing through your blog as I eat my morning oatmeal and can identify with much of what you write. Certainly the busy-ness of your day resonates. I am never far from my trusty red leather daytimer but even though I list down the stuff that has to get done in a day, I still sometimes don’t get to everything:) Life’s like that. I think it’s one way God reminds me/us that He’s still in control no matter how organized my daytimer is. I’m following you now although I think all my follows show up under http://mcdermottfootcare.wordpress.com, my business blog.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Nice to meet you too, Terry! You are so write, He is in control~and He is our GPS. I looked at your footcare blog, too. love both your blogs. funny—we have oatmeal for breakfast too!

Leave a Reply

