Gentle Breezes and Late Spring Renewal

Today God is My Interior Designer and Architect

This is a revision of a past post….it was applicable!

It’s Sunday; this coming week my students have finals, so it will be busy but exciting for them. Part of me is excited, and part of me is drained in advance. Why? I get drained thinking about the zillions of things I need to do. Then I get overwhelmed and go through the motions. The burdens feel heavy. I discussed this with one of my priests over the weekend. He sagely reminded me to spend time with God each morning and give my days and nights to Him. Have I heard that advice a MILLION times before? Of course! Saturday it struck a new chord with me. I began to reflect about bosses I worked for that I have liked and ones that drove me crazy. Now when I tell you about my bosses, don’t think that I am sexist. Far from it. It is just that every single one of my bosses were men. That is just how it has worked out thus far.

Anyway, the bosses that I did my best work for, and was constantly motivated to be productive, were ones who trusted my work and instincts. They built me up with trust and room to grow. They expected me to stay in touch and keep them informed, but they didn’t harass me to do so. I suddenly realized on Saturday that there is a strong parallel between how they treated me and how God treats me. No, I am not saying these men were gods. I am saying that I was aware enough (when I was working for them) to realize what was required for me to do my best. I took on my work with great joy—yes, I really did come whistling into the office most days. I worked my tail off happily. There was joy around me because of it, even in stressful times. The more I worked with joy and zeal, the more responsibility I was entrusted with. The more I did and the more I connected with my bosses, the more my role expanded. This was good, because it allowed me to conduct training sessions, produce employee manuals, redesign departments, improve business ethics….well you get the idea.

What I realized once again over the weekend was that God treats me like those bosses. He believes in me. He expects me to work hard and use all of my talents and gifts. He expects me to make my part of the world better in ways that I may not even have imagined yet! He also prefers that I stay in touch with Him on a regular basis. He wants me to sit down with Him and share my thoughts, frustrations, hopes, dreams, accomplishments, love and everything else. He is NOT like Charlie on Charlie’s Angels, just stopping by to issue a quick order every now and then. No wonder I at times feel like I am adrift. When I treat Him like Charlie instead of a beloved manager—well, of course I feel like I am off on my own and rather powerless or victimized at times.

I say God is my interior designer/architect for a very specific reason. In the spring we often feel the need to rearrange furniture, purge closets, put out different knick-knacks that are light and fresh. Some of us even repaint a room or something even more extensive. We feel an almost irresistible urge to redefine our space.  Continually reminding myself to demur to God will keep my interior fresh, light, and filled with joy.

At this point in the year, I welcome  a whole lot of lovely redesign inside! I am picturing pale yellow walls, vases of purple hyacinths, forsythia, daffodils, and lilacs scattered around. Plus wispy white curtains blowing at the open windows….of my cottage by the sea. You see, I can get to water in my mind—even though I live in the desert. In my mind I journey to the sandbar on the Mississippi river in Minnesota that my family and I frequented. I journey, too, to beautiful beaches on the coast of Maine (breathtaking) and on the beautiful Snookie-less Jersey shore. 

I journey to an imagined campfire on a perfect night where I can talk with Jesus and be surrounded by His peace. Isn’t it wonderful how our minds and hearts can take us to He who radiates, emanates and surrounds us with peace? Isn’t it miraculous that we can be reunited with loved ones via our memories, prayers, minds, and hearts? It matters not what separates us, our hearts can reunite. God is good, all the time…..

Now the desert is lovely, and I do love it….I am just picturing springtime images. May my interior be redecorated by God, my beloved Savior. He is the joy of my life. Blessings to each of you. May the windows of your minds and heart have constant heartwarming breezes blowing gently into your homes today.  

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gentle Breezes and Late Spring Renewal

  1. niasunset says:

    You are so nice… I enjoyed reading this post, Thank you dear Kate, have a nice new week, love, nia

  2. Cathy Monteiro says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Kate. I haven’t been good lately with spending m time with God. Perhaps that’s why I’m so frazzled as the end of the year approaches. The hurrier I go the be hinder I get! Best to slow down some.

    Take care, dear friend.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      you take care, too. don’t get too frazzled with end of the school year stuff—and classroom cleanup….i know you have a lot of work ahead of you….don’t overdo it, okay?

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Lovely! God bless you, Kate.

  4. Hello, Twin!
    I’ve finally landed, both physically and bloggically.I think.
    Check out Home’s Cool and see what you think, please.
    Ha. In your spare time! 🙂
    Oh, almost forgot, this post of your is lovely, as you always manage to make them. Thanks so much for this. I am thrilled with your site every time I consider it!

    K

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I took a quick look at it is completely awesome. I love it. I will be over to your site as soon as I can. congratulations—no wonder you have been so busy my dear twin.

  5. dogear6 says:

    Excellent analogy! Thanks for sharing.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks so much. I hope that this week will be restorative for you. I am in the final week of the school year for my students. Then some of them will be in summer school. the pace will differ, and I am ready for that, for sure!

  6. What a great way to put it…God as your interior designer! So true, I do hope the final week of the school year ends well! I’m sure it will. Debra

Leave a Reply

