A Joke

Ok, today I cannot even compose a worthy post at all. It is Thursday~I have had a full slate of students and they all have finals coming up. But I saw this joke today and it really cracked me up. I think I am going to print it off for my math students.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Joke

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Kate! Can hardly type for uncontrollable guffawing! This is too good, and way too true for me–brings back horrid memories of math, now sweetened with relieved humor! Thanks so much–God bless you, and all your students as they cruise through Finals!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i know, right? I keep coming back to it and laughing!!! working on getting my “kids” through finals…..and then we are all into summer school mode!

  2. fiztrainer says:

    LOLOLOL… Love it! This is TOO funny!

  3. niasunset says:

    Made me laugh it was so nice Thank you dearest Kate, Love, nia

  4. LOL! Love this!

    If I could have come up with creative answers like this in math, I would have had a much easier time. šŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      saw something once that was goofy answers kids gave to math tests. One was solving for s in an equation like: 2x + 4 = 12. The test question was “find x” and a student had written here it is, and then drew a circle around the x. I thought that was hilarious, too.

      PS anyone reading this that doesn’t know the answer: subtract 4 from both sides of the equation. That gives you 2x = 8; then divide both sides of the equation by 2. that gives you x = 4.

  5. Yep! That just about covers my relationship to math! I love this! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      LOL!!! If I saw a similar one about philosophy, i’d sure be able to relate to it!! I thought this particular joke would make each of my students say “why is that funny”~precisely because to them, this is how word problems sound!!! and so far, they have each said that!!

  6. Patricia says:

    As an old math geek – I love this joke!

    Patricia

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Me too, Patricia! Truly loved it. You know that word problems really sound that way until you know how to “break the code” and how to “identify the key words”!

  7. Pingback: Sports News

  8. Oh, Kate! My son’s last math professor is a family friend and fellow homeschooler. I think I’ll share it with him, since he’s always wearing silly math T-shirts. šŸ™‚ This was so funny. šŸ˜€

  9. jelillie says:

    Feels like my life right now. Not a lot making sense but have to keep running to catch the answer I am sure is just around the corner!

  10. eof737 says:

    šŸ˜† Very funny…

Leave a Reply

