Just Like That

Forgive my absence yesterday. But we were busy with graduation preparations. And…Just like that, the graduation really did happen; with us in attendance; and Josh walking across the stage. I will post pictures another day. But there were two things that were said that were so lovely, so perfect, and so heartwarming. The first was said by the Vice President of the school at the very end of the ceremony, right before the graduates marched back up the aisle. She said “in just a few hours you have gone from students, to graduates, to alumni….just like that”. Yeah–my tears were flowing.

The other statement I loved was: Prepare for a life of significance. Not only is this the mission of the school, but it was the capstone comment made by the commencement speaker. He is also the college president and an alum of the school. He told the graduates that no matter what they do, they can and must make a difference through a life of significance.

He went on to explain that they should do this in their work lives, private lives, and volunteer activities. He said that the world is sorely lacking leadership and they should fill this gap by being leaders. He was careful to repeat that a life ofย significance is not just the paycheck. Rather it is committing time, talent, and treasure to the calling you have from God.

As you can imagine, after all of the delays in reaching my son’s actual graduation ceremony, we were half holding our breath until his name was announced (followed by our cheers), he walked across the stage, shook hands with the college president, and was handed his diploma (followed by more mama cheers).

And Just Like That…..the moment arrived….my dream that he have his dream come true….my butterfly flew! No, he hasn’t left the nest. and I am not waiting impatiently for that moment, either. But Just Like That, he had his moment. His life of significance began awhile ago. And now, I thank God that he indeed had his moment, and his well-deserved moment at that.

It makes me think of the lyrics from a song in the Disney movie Cinderella :

“A dream is a wish your heart makes
When you’re fast asleep
In dreams you lose your heartaches
Whatever you wish for, you keep
Have faith in your dreams and someday
Your rainbow will come smiling thru
No matter how your heart is grieving
If you keep on believing
the dream that you wish will come true”

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Just Like That

  1. Kathy says:

    Congratulations on his accomplishment and on yours as well!
    I have a daughter and son-in-law who have graduated from college and son is due to finish in December and then he will start Grad School (at the same place SIL is at for Grad School).

    I’ve yet to see one “walk the stage” but I’m hoping it happens one of these days.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Congrats. A great moment.

  3. Congratulations Kate, I can relate as we have seen our two daughters cross that path in life, A proud moment for any parent and a wonderful mother’s day present for you, yeah!

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Kate, I’m boo-hoo-ing like I’m Josh’s “real” Auntie Caddo! Congratulations to him–and God bless his significant life, touched and ordained by our BIG, wonderful, faithful, loving and happy God!! Have a lovely Mother’s Day!!

  5. fgassette says:

    Congratulations to all of you. Each one of you have played a significant roll in making it possible for Josh to walk across that stage. The Bible tells us to let our light so shine they they may see your good works and give glory to God. Your whole family is shining before us, so we give glory to God for your accomplishments.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. niasunset says:

    Congratulations dear Kate, this should be the most beautiful gift for you too. God Bless him and his new life… Thank you, Happy Mother’s Day, Love, nia

  7. reneeboomer says:

    Congratulation’s!! Proud moment for you all. big hugs. ๐Ÿ™‚ Renee

  8. auntyuta says:

    A truly inspiring post. Thanks for sharing, Kate. And congratulations to your son. Best wishes for the future!

  9. auntyuta says:

    Yes, I forgot, it’s Mother’s Day today. How wonderful for you, Kate. Have a very, very enjoyable day, Love.

  10. What a beautiful moment – so uplifing! Thank you so much for sharing this with us ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. misswhiplash says:

    great post,,,thank you

  12. You make me cry Kate.. In a really good way. What a beautiful thing to share with us and what a magnificent Mother’s Day gift. Congrats, Congrats, and more Congrats Dear Momma Kate. Job well done, all three of you!
    You must be busting from ear to ear~

    • Kate Kresse says:

      you made me laugh when you said cry in really good way. My husband loves to tease me when i say that! you are right—the most “magnificent-est” Mother’s day ever. we are proud as can be and smiling from ear to ear.

  13. APPLAUSE!!!!!!!!!! CHEERING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CAN YOU HEAR IT COMING FROM THE EAST?
    ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Maria Tatham says:

    Congratulations, joyous Mom!

  15. Congrats to your son & you! Great post!

  16. I saw you posted pictures of the graduation so scrolled backwards to find the writeup!
    My boys both graduated college but only one chose to attend the ceremony (last May.) Like you, I was overwhelmed by every second of it.
    I hear people say ‘a college degree is a dime a dozen,’ or ‘diplomas aren’t really necessary’ and I shake my head!! As your commencement speaker wisely said, having a degree shoudn’t just be about making a salary. Getting a degree (be it an Associate’s, Bachelor’s Masters or Doctorate) means so much more to your life than how you earn a paycheck! It develops curiousity and logical thinking. It shows tenacity, hard work, and initiative. I could go on and on!
    What struck me most about the ceremony was all that promise for the future on ONE stage! And when you realize Commencements take place on hundreds of stages nationwide, now that’s just mind-boggling! I refuse to believe the world won’t reap benefits from it all!

    Congrats to your son, Kate, and to you and your family for making it possible!

Leave a Reply

