Through Life’s Roads

“But friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life; and thanks to a benevolent arrangement of things, the greater part of life is sunshine”.~Thomas Jefferson

I write regularly about the times friends see us through our sad, or painful, or scary times; times of heartache, travail, hardship, loss. I often think, where would I be without the love of these people. I would be remiss if I did not also say how enriching the good times are when they are shared with friends as well. There are two poignant movie scenes that come to mind for me…..the first is from the movie Jerry Maguire. Cuba Gooding is celebrating his big moment—and immediately reaches out to his wife. Maguire finally “gets it” and realizes how empty his life has become. He rushes back to Zellwiger and explains that she completes him. “You had me at hello,” she responds. They both understood the joy of having someone to rejoice with.

The other is from An Officer and a Gentleman. At the end of the graduation ceremony everyone but Richard Gere has someone to hug, congratulate, and rejoice with. Gere, too, finally has a moment of clarity. He hops on his motorcycle after his goodbyes. He rides to his girlfriend’s factory. He had thought he had need of no one. He realized he was wrong. He did it up big. He marches into the factory, swoops her up to marry her, and they march off into the sunset. He has decided to marry her—as she hoped he would, but was prepared to be left behind.  

In both of these fantasy worlds, the ‘loners’ realized they led empty lives. They came upon this realization, not in a struggling time, but in a happy time. So when we have people who rejoice in our victories and happy times, our lives are amazingly blessed. As I have said, my life has been and continues to be amazingly blessed. Of course, I have also been blessed with the ability to recognize and be grateful for the blessings and moments of grace God has sent and continues to send to me. I KNOW that I must have support—advocates, fellow interdependent friends, sounding boards…..it makes my life full. . . people happy to hug, high five, and CELEBRATE!!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Through Life’s Roads

  1. fiztrainer says:

    I was always a loner so I can fully attest to what you’re saying here. It took me a long time to finally begin to trust the friendships that been proven through time. It’s a beautiful wonderful thing to finally be able to allow into your heart those around you. This was a really great post. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks so much….you are so right; when trustworthy people build friendships with you it is really beautiful and heartwarming to intertwine your hearts and share your downs and your ups. thanks for your kind words!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Amen to all of it!!

  3. And you know to be grateful, graceful, and thankful for the blessings that He brings you~ I like who you are.

  4. auntyuta says:

    I must say, the Barefoot Baroness is spot-on!.I also like who you are. Your posts are truly heartwarming. Thank you for writing consistently such inspiring posts!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks so much…..it has been a crazy month and i have not been as consistent in reading people’s posts and comments. desperately trying to catch up soon!

Leave a Reply

