Be who you want to be

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”
― F. Scott Fitzgerald

I have to confess, I have never seen this quote before. I feel like time is whizzing by these days. I would imagine that is the stage of life I am in. I have always loved the song “The Circle Game” as recorded by Joni Mitchell. and the song Forever Young (recorded by among others, Joan Baez and also Bob Dylan). Each of these songs addresses the passage of time. Today I was feeling like it was all going by too quickly. Then I saw the quote by Fitzgerald. It reminded me that each of our days is a new frontier and a new beginning. Ecclesiastes tells us that ‘to everything there is a season’.

So as we zoom and dance through spring, and head toward summer, we know that there IS time. There is time to put a leaf in a gulley of water created by a rainstorm, and watch it zoom along the curb. 

There is time to sit and ponder. We all need pondering time.

So today and tonight, I hope you have time to ponder. AND I hope you know in your heart that it is never too late to be/become who you want to be. I wish you joy and big dreams and affirmations today.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Be who you want to be

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    Wonderful thoughts and encouragment! Thank you, Kate!

  2. niasunset says:

    I haven’t known too this beautiful quote of him. Wonderful message… And how nice you brought them all in this post, Joni Mitchell and the song Forever Young, Joan Baez and also Bob Dylan. What a beautiful voices and songs… and also you added one of my favorite poems (I hope I can say like that if I am wrong, sorry) Ecclesiastes… Especially “There is a time for everything….”

    Thank you my beautiful blogger friend dear Kate, as always you carry us into the beautiful thoughts and feelings… I wish you yoo to have a nice and enjoyable day, angels and muses and beauties be with you always, Love, nia

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I hadn’t seen it before yesterday either, Nia. I thought it was so perfect for fitting in with my thoughts for today. Have a beautiful day and keep taking your amazing photos and writing your beautiful words. sending hugs—Kate

  3. I loved the quote so much, i forwarded this entire post via email to my oldest son. Great stuff, Kate, thank-you!

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Lovely and wonderful words, Kate! God bless you BIG.

  5. So true and encouraging. I plan to continue growing until the day I die. Thanks Kate!

  6. One of my favorite quotes was by psychologist Toni Grant: “Life is not a dress-rehearsal.” And I like that…don’t wait for something to fall into place, just begin to live the life you want to live. You said it well, Kate! Debra

  7. I love to ponder and do it quite often. More than I should. I am happy to just be!

  8. Gilly Gee says:

    Dear Kate what a lovely post again. There is a time for every purpose – this is your time. Hugs,G.

Leave a Reply

