Catch the Tradewinds

I

It is the time of year when we see transitions all around us. they range from simple things like springtime flowers, early summer crops, changing from sweaters to tank tops, flinging open our windows, or doing spring cleaning. This week I have been thinking about college graduations, high school graduations, and families moving to smaller homes during this economy. With each transition comes both tears and cheers. I have always faced transition with a fair amount of tears. But without those transitional  goodbyes there is no room for the next hellos.Actually, it is the anticipation of the sorrow of the pending goodbyes at transition that is the most difficult for me! Once I am in the next new situation, I am fine. I would compare that to when I have to get an immunization or have blood drawn. I always look away. I don’t do that because I don’t like the look of blood. It is the anticipation that is tough! I tell them ‘don’t tell me before you do it, and don’t say here comes the poke or pinch. I cannot handle the information!’ It is really true. If I don’t look, and they don’t tell me, and they just do it, I hardly notice the discomfort, and I don’t fight it!

Now,  I personally do not have any big transitions coming up. But other people do. I encourage you to believe that on the other side of that transition, grace awaits. I know this because I also know that grace will see you through that transition as well.  I look back over the graduations and moves that I have made. Each time God filled my sails and saw me through.  That is why I so loved the quote in the photo I included. May God fill your sails with strength, joy, comfort, and hope today. 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Catch the Tradewinds

  1. niasunset says:

    Thank you so much dear Kate, how nice to read this now, it hits me once again in my life… With my love, nia

  2. Gilly Gee says:

    You’re so right about transitions, very frightening but rarely as bad as we expect! Great post Kate, very inspiring 🙂

  3. Okay. I will share here that I am inaugurating a new site this Sunday: TheConqueringMom.com.
    Will that do? 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I’m so excited to see it!!!!! I absolutely love the name of the site ~ and it so suits you!

      • Yeh, I figure it will let me be tough or touchy or tyrannical, or any other of my several personalities, and still fit the title. 😀
        Just hope I can do it right. I’ve been unhappy with some things on the old one. Will still post there, but maybe only twice a week or so. Oh I don’t know, but I was sick of blogging yet know I should be doing it. We shall see. Maybe the new work will light my fire. 🙂
        Thanks for your excitement. ❤
        Also, need to work on developing my brand, voice, etc., and quit just chatting and fooling around. 😛

        • Kate Kresse says:

          i am really looking forward to seeing your new concepts and ideas. i know you and He will find just the right mix/message/brand/frequency. You are a faith-filled shining star. it is funny, sometimes I can be semi-eloquent in my posts. But then when it comes to the back and forth of comment-world, sometimes I get all tongue-tied, awkward, etc.

          • Just think if you got Freshly Pressed — you’d have to think of 200-300 different eloquent ways to say “thanks” to comments like, “Really nice blog!” Ha! 🙂
            This happened to a blogging friend of mine, and she speaks English as her second language. Poor dear. I think someone is coaching her, though.
            And Someone is coaching you, too, my dear. ❤

            • Kate Kresse says:

              oh yikes, I hadn’t considered that! I doubt that I would ever get Freshly Pressed. It seems there are some Categories or Tags that FP is looking for. and thanks, katharine. I try very hard to listen to His voice…..and reach out. I pray that people are strengthened. That’s all we can do each day. love to you~

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    First, Kate–I’m so Thankful I emailed you today, so that I could figure out why I was “missing” some good stuff–thank you for responding and telling me you had posts up! Second–I So relate to what you say (and often). I too have “anticipatory” issues–anxiety about transitions, which I’m generally pretty exhilarated about, once I get “there”! Thank you, thank you–I appreciate you so much! God bless you Big–much love, sis Caddo

  5. TBM says:

    I love Twain…inspirational words and such a character!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I grew up near the Mississippi River, and my dad LOVED Twain’s work, so he holds a really special place in my heart. Thanks 🙂

      • TBM says:

        This will sound cheesy, but since leaving America I have been thinking of Twain a lot lately. He is such a great writer and an interesting American. I want to read more of his travel books…maybe he will inspire me to write about my own travels.

Leave a Reply

