Dandelions and Friendship

 

A friend of mine (Maureen) and I were chatting online. We were talking about when we are going through a difficult time how important it is to have an ally/buddy/friend to help you through things. In many cases those difficult times are when you are trying to effect change. She told me her amazing theory:

” When I was in college I had a belief that when you hope to meet someone, that is equal to blowing a dandelion. We have dandelions, and we have boxes to catch the dandelion seeds that are blown in the air. When a seed lands in your box, it means someone in the Universe has heard your request to meet them. The same seed you blow out into the wind lands in someone else’s. Then you meet”.

Isn’t that a truly beautiful concept? How lovely to imagine our hopes and wishes being carried to the chambers of someone else’s heart. then in perfect timing, the symphony of friendship begins anew. One of the things I miss about living in the Midwest is seeing dandelions growing all over the place. I know they are ‘just weeds”~but oh how I remember picking fistfuls of dandelions for my mama. She always cherished them. My friends and I would sit on the lawn picking dandelions and making necklaces out of them. Or we would pick bouquets, hold them under our chins and ask each other if we liked butter. You see, if our friend could see the yellow reflected on our neck it meant we liked butter. We were interesting young girls, eh? [My son and his friends repeated these behaviors when they were kids!]

Gone-to-seed dandelions always translated into our squeals of delight,
followed by picking them and blowing on them to make a wish. We just “knew” our wishes would come true. 

So now that memory has becoming enriched. Enriched how? By the passing on of a long-held cherished belief by my friend Maureen. She is a song writer, a dreamer, a hope-er, a wonder. I am so thankful she passed on that amazing imagery to me. To hope takes courage. Carpe Diem! I ask you each to make a wish and say a prayer that she receives the friendship to help her effect her changes!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Dandelions and Friendship

  1. I love this story, Kate. And yes – I too remember holding the dandelions up to the chins of my little pals back in the day. I’d forgotten completely about that wonderful tool we all used to decide whether or not we liked butter. Thank you for reigniting that portion of my “post-it notes”.
    Hugs,
    Jane

  2. Terri O.A. says:

    Hi Kate, to me dandelions are just magical. Even the name is great! Nice Post! I want to pass along the Readership Appreciation Award to you. Just click, save and enjoy from my latest post. THank you Kate for so many good reads.

  3. misswhiplash says:

    When a child we always made chains out of wild Daisies, and Buttercups went under the chin to see if you liked butter. Dandelions grow quite profusely in my garden and when the wind whips away the feathery bits I think it is like fairies on the wind.

    A lovely tale thank you

  4. I used to see dandelions everywhere, and simply don’t anymore. I think the products used in garden care have probably over time eradicated many of the weeds, including the dandelion. Pity! I will never see one again, though, and not think of our story! You are so generous to your friends, and I’m sure that Maureen will go forward with God’s richest blessings. And she already has you as her friend…that’s a good support right there! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i used to love seeing the dandelions along the sides of the roads and in the empty lots….we would pick them by the dozens going to school for our teachers and coming home from school for our moms. Thanks Debra 🙂

  5. I love this article. Thank you for adding my idea about dandelions.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Maureen~you inspired me. I really loved your idea about the dandelion seeds analogous for meeting people…..you truly do have the heart of a poet/songwriter.

  6. eof737 says:

    I’m finally catching up again on blog posts. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

  7. Gilly Gee says:

    Kate this is lovely thank you 🙂 I grew up doing the chin and butter thing with buttercups and doing the same with my children!

  8. We always loved the fragrance of them. And our mom made jelly and wine from them. Amazing, when you think of it.
    Also, any who miss seeing them can visit me. I have all you might need. You may take them home with you. PLEASE! 😀

  9. Caddo Veil says:

    Apologies for redundancy, but this is really really wonderful, too–I LOVE it!! And Kate, thanks for catching some of my seeds! God bless you-, sis Caddo

  10. You have the most amazing analogies. I can completely relate to this. I love you for this post Kate. You inspire so many memories & emotions for me. A great way to start carching up since the return from my trip. Thank you!

    One other thing made from dandelions that I have come across is wine. Not bad either.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      The truly hilarious thing about my analogies is this: my mom was always speaking in analogies….I went thru a lengthy phase where I just tried to survive them, but tuned them out….of course now, older and wiser, I think of analogies all the time! god has such a sense of humor. Welcome back~

      • We never realize just how wise our parents are until we become parents as well, Then our mom’s especially all of a sudden are quite billante!

        Thank you Kate, its so good to be back home.~ God is Awesome!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          you are so right!!! and hugs, huzzahs, and welcome back home! I know it is overwhelming seeing all the emails, posts, etc. I have gotten way, way behind tooo—and know that i can never completely catch up. sometimes it is like walking into a library full of books you know will be amazing….and knowing also there is no way to be able to read every word of every book! Do what you can—and take care of YOU!! rest up, too!

          • You are too too sweet to me. Thank you Kate. I just had to give myself permission for not being able to catch up on all. I am so grateful for the affrimation from you. Much needed ZI might say.

            It feels so good being back in the fold. I so missed you all.~

Leave a Reply

