Are You A Little Nut?

“the mightiest oak in the forest is just a little nut that held its ground”

I have always been a bit different; I march to my own drummer. I guess that the bottom line was that I would rather do the right thing than either fit in or be popular. I try to stress that to my students as well. I don’t know what it is that makes me be my own person. Well, yes I do. God found a way to convince me of that long ago. I am not saying that it doesn’t hurt my feelings when I ‘don’t fit in’. But, and this is a big but, it doesn’t make me want to change my values or views…..as long as I am as sure as I can be that my values and views match what I believe God wants them to be.

Of course, in my life~and I am sure yours, too~there are times when people laugh at me and at you. That’s ok, really it is. In my teen and college years I rejoiced in my uniqueness. At the same time, I wept if it caused me to be temporarily friendless. That was then, and this is now. Now if there are times I am alone, I know the tides come and go.

These days I don’t worry about times of being alone, or times when there aren’t friends to uplift me. I know, that is easy to say when you have a fabulous husband like I do…and an amazing sun…and blogging friends and other friends. I know when those times of not having friends come around, I will be able to hear God without distraction.

Back to my “little nut”. It is hard for me to verbalize it completely. But perhaps if I paint a verbal picture of my fashion sense in college it would become more clear.  If I could provide photos of my college days I would. But I will describe my wardrobe. Shoes? Often I wore saddle shoes. No, they weren’t the “in” thing. but they were comfortable on my wide feet. Each August I would head to Baker’s Shoes and get 1 pair of black and white saddle shoes. I would buy a pair of plaid laces to replace the plain laces. Those would be my “go to” shoes. Well, those, and the ugliest sneakers I could find in the bargain bin. (I preferred men’s cloth high tops—or—my fave find of all was a hideous pair of sneakers: they were purple, lime green, bright yellow AND purple. Ugly as heck, and fun to wear!)

I often wore hats—either those brimmed cloth sunhats, or my “choo-choo man hat”. what was that? A striped railroad hat. If I find photos, they will be below. Otherwise, not so much.

Then I would have 2 blazers (1 black velvet, cuz I loved it; and 1 plaid)—I’d toss those on with whatever. Nope–didn’t matter if they matched. Plus a few solid colored turtle necks. then I would sew a few little A-line skirts, a jumper or two, and some slacks.

Last—a pair of overalls, a pair of painter’s pants (white), and a pair of jeans. I’d combine those with various knee-highs and wear them unmatched on purpose. Purse? the same one all year long.

At my college many of the girls wore matching plaid jackets and pants, gorgeous loafers, and pretty blouses and designer purses, and designer makeup….not me. I rejoiced in my funkiness…it made me happy—and it cost less!

My views on politics, religion, friendship, parenting, writing, literature, pop culture….have all been consistently mine…..and for me, that is where God wants me. He affirms that regularly…..I am His and He is mine….

Today I have no point….other than if you are a nut, know you are called to be so. Now I have to get to my cleaning and de-cluttering and organizing! Have a great weekend. Rejoice in the unique hodgepodge of giftedness that is you. In geological terms, perhaps we are all at times metamorphic and sometimes igneous. But we stand on solid Rock. I will continue my rock analogy another time. Stay tuned~same Bat time; same Bat channel! 😉

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are You A Little Nut?

  1. fgassette says:

    Knowing who you are and whose you are is a great blessing to have found at an early age. The Bible tells us we are wonderfully and fearfully made and each of us has our own unique and special gift or gifts given to us. Your students are fortunate to have you as an excellent example and mentor. Have a wonderful weekend and Mother’s Day.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Yes – I am a little nut as well. Perfect, I think. I mean who wants to be a “cookie cutter” person? There are plenty of those folks running amok. Enjoy your individuality – it is simply splendid!
    Hugs,
    Jane

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Love this, Kate! I frequently reference my “nuttiness”–and today the payoff was great–I got an email from one of our sisters who said at the end, “love you so much–Please stay nutty forever!” Little things truly thrill me, and that counts as a Big Hug from God–so I’m passing it on: please be a nut forever!! God bless all of us happy and “Believing” Nuts! love, sis Caddo

  4. Cathy Monteiro says:

    I had no idea you were such a fashionista! I like nuts–during all seasons. I consider myself one too. You are quite flavorful and consistent. I’m glad you’re my friend. I’ll be there for you always–

    • Kate Kresse says:

      And I for you my amazing friend. It is fun to be a nut, isn’t it? I think I will enjoy my Red Hat days if I join them!! Fahionista, that’s me, right?

  5. legionwriter says:

    Encouraging post for all us nutty types!

  6. Yes, I’d say you aren’t easily defined! I guess now we can speculate as to what kind of nut you will be in the future! Growing older you may find more “nuts” in your companionship, but you’ll still want to be unique. Do you know the poem, “When I grow old I will wear purple?” That’s you! 🙂 Debra

  7. Funny. Around here we call those people “squirrelly”. But nuts and squirrels do go together, right? 😉
    A pastor friend of ours would never let his children follow fads. They could have faddish clothing, usually, but it had to be a year out of date. He did not want them following fads at all. I surely can understand.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      me too! my mom always emphasized that she didn’t want me to be in the “fast crowd”~and that covered wardrobe, social events, friends, everything! I often did not even bother to know what the ‘latest trend’ was. Mom and I sewed a lot of my clothes. The rest I found on sales and in bargain bins ~ ….

Leave a Reply

