How Has Progress Happened?

You know, in the midst of the ongoing maelstrom over all kinds of issues, I have been wondering about the miraculous and serendipitous nature of progress and change. For instance, consider the lowly banana. The peel is poisonous. So did it come to be that people (or animals) realized that if you peeled them, the fruit inside was not poisonous.

Or how about companies/organizations/families/or any other group of people. Generally someone in the group has a vision and concept of the direction the group wants to go. At some point, those in charge formulate rules or a constitution or policies. Then people either choose to follow and cooperate or they rebel and move and begin anew.

Those bold experiments change the world. For example after Jesus’ Resurrection, the Christian faithful wold gather together and share all of their belongings and property with each other. Now this took some courage; their initial tendency may have been to hide and keep their things. But they were filled to the brim with Resurrection joy.

Another example, of course, is the Colonists who signed the Declaration of Independence. Such a Rebellion was almost unfathomable at the time. Sometimes bold steps change the world. Other bold experiments include the framing of the Constitution.

In more recent times, women were given the right to vote in 1920. This was after a lot of protests and activism. In my opinion, peaceful, calm, and measured discussions can change minds and hearts. Eventually folks have to settle down and work together for solutions to societal problems. At least I hope they do! The talking heads and sarcasm that abounds is beginning to give me a headache. I pray for peaceful hearts.

So which do I favor~bold action or calm discussion? In these days of ongoing reactionary discussions and finger-pointing (which some would call bullying)  calm discussion with people willing to compromise and let each other save face WOULD be a bold action!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Bullying and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Has Progress Happened?

  1. jelillie says:

    I agree Kate! Let’s coin the term “Bold calmness”!

  2. I listen to Dennis Prager on the radio quite a bit…he says that he prefers “clarity over agreement.” He has reasonable conversations about hot topics…not bombastic debates. He is more conservative than I tend to run, but I learn so much by listening to his “reasoned” conversations. I have to be reasonable with where I spend my energy, and sometimes quite one-by-one conversation gets me much further overall than taking a hard stand and alienating someone else. I think we all need to know where our sphere of influence is most profound! Debra

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I can testify that being “filled with Resurrection Joy” makes a person generous–Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

