Under the Weather

Hi my friends. I am not up to posting today. I have a fever. I went to the doc for a flu test. I don’t have type A or B flu. Just a general fever-inducing body ache virus. I had to cancel my students today and I am resting. Nothing life threatening at all~but pray that I am well soon.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Under the Weather

  1. AlohaKarina says:

    I don’t LIKE that you have the flu, but I do like that you are giving yourself the gift of time off, from teaching and writing. Rest well and get better soon!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Karina; I am feeling a lot better today.

      • AlohaKarina says:

        Glad to hear it! Don’t do too much…you don’t want a relapse!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          Amen. Trying to work out a situation with my mom back in OH. She is in the hospital and the hospital wants her to go to rehab next. she is dead set against it due to the stress she feels about going there and the risk of infection. She wants to go home~but my bro back there can’t be there 24X7 and i can’t go and even if i could i can’t lift her. My son may go but I am worried he will end up having a relaps with his lupus….it’s a mess. say some prayers!

          • AlohaKarina says:

            Will do. Hope you find a solution that works! My Mom-in-law went to rehab for her broken hip, she was there for almost two months, and she was fine. Just check the rehab facilities out first if you can, or if your brother can. Actually visit them and ask questions! Good luck!

            • Kate Kresse says:

              I’m so glad that worked out for your MIL. His and my concern is that when my dad needed similar services a few years ago we carefully checked out facilities. We ended up having him in 3 separate ones, as the care that was promised was definitely not the care they delivered. He contracted C. dif at the first facility, and that is what ultimately killed him. So my mom has good reason for her anxiety~yet it may be what she has to have…..it is worrisome. I appreciate your sound advice and prayers~kate

              • AlohaKarina says:

                Oh that’s horrible, Kate. Another way to find out is to talk to people who’ve had experiences. A hospital setting, by the way, is a way better option than “skilled nursing facility”. There are three different levels of care and skilled nursing is the bottom…and it’s not that skilled. The hospital itself is the top tier of care, and in between that and skilled nursing is another tier, I forget what they call it. They have one of those in Maine, and it’s where I wanted my Mom-in-law to go, but it was too much of a hospital for her so she chose skilled nursing. It’s a pretty place but the care was not fabulous. They screwed up her medication over and over. Your brother needs to be prepared to be her patient advocate and to rattle cages–because otherwise most of then don’t really care whether they get it right or not. Even with our being pains in the neck, they still undermedicated my mom-in-law, probably because they didn’t want to have to give her the meds as frequently as she truly needed them.

                Remember, you’re the client–squeaky wheel gets the oil, be a pain in the neck, and CALL yourselves patient advocates. They will look at you a little differently than just family. Oh and who cares if they’re irritated by you–they will know you’re watching, and will have to be more careful.

                Such a shame that facilities have that reputation, but it’s real. 😦

  2. fgassette says:

    Praying for your health and recovery.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Prayers on the wing, Kate–God bless you! love, sis Caddo

  4. 😦 Hope you feel better soon!

  5. reneeboomer says:

    I am praying for you Kate. Take good care of you. I will look forward to your wonderful posts. Renee 🙂

  6. Kate, I hope you rest a lot and feel better soon, I’ll be thinking about you.

  7. Snuggle up with soft pillows, cool sheets..and warm blankets if chilled too….and just give your body time to heal… : )

  8. Maria Tatham says:

    Hope you’re feeling better, Kate! You must drink some of that lemonade you make from lemons life gives you! Stay down, cozy, peaceful.
    Bless you!
    M.

  9. I want you to lese take care of you. I know J will watch over you as well, hubby’s can so pull it together sometimes like these times.
    Prayers of healing energy being sent with gentelest of hugs Love.~ You & Jules been drinking from the same lemonade? She’s been sick too.

  10. Sweetie, something to get your feet wet for when you ARE feeling better.
    You know I’ve been tagged about 5 times before and never played. Now I know why. Time consuming…..

    Burt today misery is loving company.
    Tag, you are it!

    http://tonij.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/ive-been-tagged-this-time-ill-play/

  11. pbus1 says:

    Hope you’re feeling better today. I will be sending up prayers for you! Blessings!

    Paulette

  12. Kathy says:

    I hope you are feeling better today! No fun being ill.

  13. Madeline Lund says:

    Prayers for recovery and rest!

  14. Getting caught up on reading tonight…I missed quite a lot! I do hope you continue to get better. When you have a lot on your mind sometimes it sure does create a pathway to some of the flus…I find stress always brings it on!! I hope you can get some rest, even if you are feeling better. You probably need it. Hugs, Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I’d say this was definitely stress related. I did rest, I did resume tutoring. The stress level has zoomed even more due to some health related things for my mom. So I continue to pray—and try to stay calm.

  15. So sorry I missed this. Glad you are better. ❤

  16. eof737 says:

    I hope you are feeling better now… Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

