Seedlings and Sunrises

This is one beautiful sunset. I would love to be able to say that I took this photo, but I did not. Someone took it for the Gilbert Farmer’s Market and posted it. I just love the look of the sky. I love the glow of the clouds. I was thinking about sunsets and sunrises because it is Prom seasons. The children of my friends, and my niece, have all recently attended their Senior Proms. I remember when each of them were tiny children. My goodness the years have flown. Remember the achingly poignant song from Fiddler on the Roof? I am talking, of course, about Sunrise, Sunset….you know, the one that has the part that goes “is this the little girl I carried, is this the little boy at play; I  don’t remember growing older, when did they?” a little later in the song is the line that says “seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers, blossoming even as we gaze”. Whether we are sunflowers or trees, we grow and change…

Now, anyone who has ever planted sunflowers knows they take quite awhile to grow, and of course, so do trees.  Yet once they are full grown, the elapsed time seems like nothing. It is breathtaking to consider how very quickly children grow up. Yet the years ahead will be just as precious.

I remember weeping when my son got on the bus to kindergarten. How little I knew that the ensuing years would be every bit as precious. Each of our days and moments are precious. We weep as we bid goodbye to the precious times gone by. Yet we welcome with open arms the years that await us, don’t we? We held their hands when they were tiny…they grow up and we hold each others hearts and dreams….it is a beautiful, beautiful thing.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Seedlings and Sunrises

  1. It is…it truly is a beautiful, beautiful thing… : )

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh how lovely, Kate–made me weepy!! Have a blessed day, and week!!

  3. Pingback: It’s a Beautiful Day! | CreateWhatYouWant

  4. It is truly awesome! I have not seen one as beautiful as that in quite a while…thanks for sharing!

  5. So relate … “Gardeners , like everyone else, live second by second and minute by minute. What we see at one particular moment is then and there before us. But there is a second way of seeing. Seeing with the eye of memory, not the eye of our anatomy, calls up days and seasons past and years gone by.”
    – Allen Lacy, The Gardener’s Eye, 1992, p. 16

  6. Great way to think about the passage of time. I don’t like to dwell on time…it seems to move too quickly and I really do want to enjoy each stage. I think that the biblical “To every season…” really is wisdom! Debra

  7. Sunshine says:

    Ahh, prom and wonderful moments for the almost graduating seniors…
    this is a beautiful post Kate. I love the sunset and of course, sunflowers!
    Thanks for the inspiring words today. 🙂

  8. Yes. It is a beautiful photo! Every sunrise and sunset are just too beautiful to ignore. 🙂

  9. Just read your post today and it struck a chord in a major way as I just wrote about how quickly my children have grown. And here my husband and I are, in this season of life of watching them get married, one by one. Sunrise, sunset, yes how quickly the years pass. By the way, that song was sung at my wedding, so the thought of it made me a little weepy, but in a good way. 😉

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I think of you and your triple preparations often! I hope you are getting the chance to revel in the preps. I would imagine it feels, at times, like trying to grip the waves on the shore. I love that song===didn’t have it at my wedding, but whenever I hear that song I envision the wedding scene in Fiddler on the Roof…

      And weepy in a good way, I totally ‘get that’! have a fabulous night tonight and day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

