Never Underestimate

“On April 22, 1920 in Arizona: Prominent society and club women started a boycott on potatoes to protest the price. Housewives in Phoenix were called and asked to support the boycott and tell five friends to do the same”. The potatoes sat in shops and began to rot. They spread the word of their boycott quickly. Their boycott succeeded. Businesses ultimately had to change their prices.

NEVER underestimate your power. As always, the ways we as women move through our communities and accomplish things is through establishing consensus, building a network, and caring. We stand on the shoulders of those who came before. I am not trying to start an argument of housewife vs non-housewife. I am trying to recognize the impact of those housewives who started this boycott. There is no denying they had an impact. This occurred in the same year that the states ratified the 19th amendment (1920). [For those who do not remember, that is the amendment that gave women the right to vote].

From the work of the suffragettes helping us get the right to vote, to the women over the years that brought about change, to the loving and creative women I know, we serve and lead best when we do so with love, compassion, and kindness. It seems that the seeds of social media and blogging go way, way, way back. Isn’t it reassuring to know that we walk in the footprints of fabulous ancestors whether we knew them or not?

My mom and her friends formed a similar boycott in the early 1970s in Chicago. The price of beef had gone sky high. This was back when beef was the mainstay of the dinner table. Mom and her friends decided, as they said  “at those prices, let it rot”. And so they did. they converted their dinner tables to mainly chicken and fish, and lots more veggies and fruits. It took time, but the prices came down. At the time, I thought they were VERY cool.

Especially since my friends and I thought activism and peaceful protest were TOTALLY cool! Ultimately the beef prices came back down. An interesting thing had happened in the interim. The homes never again went back to being so strongly beef dependent.

Never underestimate yourself. Never-never-never-never. the ripples and impact of my beliefs and words will echo through the years, too. People may wildly disagree with my views, beliefs, and words. But I continue to believe, no matter how small my voice, that I will make a difference. I already make a difference~I will sail on.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Never Underestimate

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh YES you do, Kate!! And if I don’t remember anything else from my blog experience, it will be your heralding cry: “Believe Anyway!” (I’m counting on senility to preserve the truly important things!!) God bless you–much love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I LIKE that concept! Perhaps senility will have us turning all the important things into a mantra, and the unimportant drag-ya-down stuff will disappear from our minds. God bless you too my sis~Kate

  2. tbnranch says:

    Well, we better get workin’ on those gas prices! Inspiring post friend.

  3. TBM says:

    Each day, while on my walk with my dog Miles, I see Emmeline Pankhurst’s grave. It is always inspiring.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      That would inspire me as well. Isn’t it marvelous when we are surrounded by history and take the time to stop and appreciate it? I certainly felt that way when I lived outside Philadelphia. We would take every visitor to Independence Hall and the other historic sites (including the Liberty Bell and Carpenter’s Hall of course).

  4. Sail on! I like that. So you come from an activist family…you have shared elements of that before. That’s a nice foundation from which to build! I’m a joiner more than a leader, but I choose wisely in lending suoport and don’t shrink from doing my part, even if my influence is a little quieter. There are a lot of different ways to sail those ships! You make a good captain, Kate 🙂 Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I’m a joiner, too. Despite my voice here, I prefer to add to the effort rather than lead the effort. I have a hard time figuring out how to delegate and ask people to do stuff. The exception is if I am working as a manager and it is part of my salary. But when I am part of a club/organization/charitable effort, I do much better if I am an enthusiastic member of the crowd. But from that position I have an easy time persuading others to join the effort. You are right there a countless ways to sail the ships, including having someone else handling the mainsail. Thanks for the praise, Debra! Love to you today 🙂

  5. Oh the power of voices combined. I knew this power as a young wife and mother. I joined a powerful group of housewives who were mostly stay at home moms, The PTA. I then within a few years was lobbying at state level for the Governors office.

    I also created a powerful force of women who fought the Southern Railroad. No cross arms at the crossing right next to our school. We won, the city council detested seeing my face come through the door by the end, but we got crossing arms up and through the public utility commissioner mandated that the speed of both freight and passenger trains to move slower past the school.

    My point, I have watched this powerful force at work and you”re right. It is very cool.

Leave a Reply

