Saddle Up: Courage and Comets and Lions, Oh My

“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
― John Wayne 

My folks loved John Wayne movies—and so we saw them often. I love his quote about courage, and I can literally hear him say it inside my head. Somedays we recognize that we are called upon to be courageous. Other days we don’t really sense that we are called to be courageous…we are just getting through our list of things to do, right?

Well—today I sense that I am being called to be courageous. I am going to tutor a merry young lad who loves to play football more than anything. He and his family are wonderful people. Although he is only in elementary school, he must attain certain grades in order to play Pop Warner football. So they have called me in to tutor him. I tutored him a couple of years ago, but then they moved on. but things are desperate right now. I ask that you pray for young, dear Tyler.

Pray that his strength and courage allow him to learn and grow and accomplish. My guess is by now he is pretty discouraged. Time is of the essence, as he only has a few weeks to get his grades up. such a young age to already be in “real time”…

I, too, need my courage and wits about me. How do I get him to that mountain top quickly? With prayer, hard work, and yes, courage. I just have to climb and work hard. Like the mountain climbers do. As my sister-in-law says “there is no elevator to success. It comes with hard work and climbing”.

Here is a very cool quote about courage that really hit me when I found it: “I have realized; it is during the times I am far outside my element that I experience myself the most. That I see and feel who I really am, the most! I think that’s what a comet is like, you see, a comet is born in the outer realms of the universe! But it’s only when it ventures too close to our sun or to other stars that it releases the blazing “tail” behind it and shoots brazen through the heavens! And meteors become sucked into our atmosphere before they burst like firecrackers and realize that they’re shooting stars!

That’s why I enjoy taking myself out of my own element, my own comfort zone, and hurling myself out into the unknown. Because it’s during those scary moments, those unsure steps taken, that I am able to see that I’m like a comet hitting a new atmosphere: suddenly I illuminate magnificently and fire dusts begin to fall off of me! I discover a smile I didn’t know I had, I uncover a feeling that I didn’t know existed in me… I see myself. I’m a shooting star. A meteor shower. But I’m not going to die out. I guess I’m more like a comet then. I’m just going to keep on coming back.” ― C. JoyBell C. 

 

Of course~whenever I need to think about courage, I think of the lovable yet blustery mis-named Cowardly Lion. when it really counted, he DID summon up his courage, didn’t he?

“Courage~ What makes the flag on the mast to wave? What makes the elephant charge his tusk in the misty mist, or the dusky dusk? What makes the muskrat guard his musk? Courage! What makes the sphinx the seventh wonder? Courage! What makes the dawn come up like thunder? Courage! What makes the Hottentot so hot? What puts the “ape” in apricot?~Cowardly Lion from the Wizard of Oz”
― L. Frank Baum

Of course, continuing when you think you can’t is one of the keys…“Courage isn’t having the strength to go on – it is going on when you don’t have strength.”

Be not afraid … continue on…. Keep going…that is courage, leadership, love, giving…gutting it out…

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saddle Up: Courage and Comets and Lions, Oh My

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    GRRRRRRREAT! I loved every word, Kate–but I’ll add just a note. Joyce Meyer frequently says something that works well for me: “do it afraid”. Boldness isn’t the absence of fear, but choosing to go ahead anyway. And you’re so right, that some days courage is just “keeping on keeping on” till the list is finished. And finally, yes! I will be praying for young Tyler, with joy and honor. Much love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Gosh I love that Joyce Meyer quote. I meant to include it and then I got distracted. Some of the best things in the world were done by people that were almost too scared to do them. We must soldier on for Him; He showed us how. Much love to you ~sis Kate

  2. jelillie says:

    We will all be called to “do it afraid” as Sister Caddo says at some point in this walk! May God give us strength! May we recognize it when it comes! Thanks for this post.

  3. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks for a great post Kate. God bless!

  4. Susan Michaels says:

    AWE-SOME!!! Oh, I can see that comet flaring….Way to go, Kate!

  5. I think sometimes we need to remember that it takes courage just to get out of bed in the morning and face a world that isn’t always friendly! If I think of that, adding in a few extra hurdles doesn’t always seem so unusual…we are resilient and can rise to many occasions. It’s a lot easier, however, if we bring the Lord along for the booster pack of strength! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Boy it sure is Debra—-otherwise it is like being on a trapeze without a net, right? My student says going over the jumps on her horse is beyond thrilling for her. I have never done that—but i have my own hurdles each day; as we all do! Hope you are having a lovely relaxing evening.

Leave a Reply

