Prayer and Life

I came across a quote I like about prayer, written by St. Therese of Lisieux. “For me, prayer means launching out of the heart towards God; it means lifting up one’s eyes, quite simply, to Heaven, a cry of grateful love from the crest of joy or the trough of despair; it’s a vast supernatural force which opens out my heart, and binds me close to Jesus.”

Binds me close to Jesus…isn’t that a vividly descriptive way to put it? do you know what that reminds me of? Well, it reminds me of when my son was tiny. There were times when he just really needed to be swaddled. At those times I would either swaddle him up and put him in his crib or I wold carry him around the house for awhile. But when I carried him at those times, I didn’t carry him in my arms. I put him in a Snuggli~and carried him (chest to chest, kind of) in the Snuggli pack. It looked kind of like this”

Now, when I did this it was amazingly calming. It was as though he’d say oh! I’ve got the world holding me close, and now I DO feel better.

He went through a phase where he needed that partway through the day every day. I;d just hold him close and gently sing and walk around. It slowed me down to a saner pace each day and helped me to “be ever-present to him”. It made his world round again.

Since God calls us to pray always, when we do, we also feel that “swaddled” or “snuggled” feeling. Our hearts fly to rest in His. That is why we must pray and praise. Our hearts fly to Him each time….like little tiny homing pigeons flying home to Him. Or are we like hummingbirds~feeding on the nectar from the blossoms in His love…

I share with you one more quote ~ from St. Patrick of Ireland: “I was like a stone lying in the deep mire; and He that is mighty came, and in His mercy lifted me up, and verily raised me aloft and placed me on the top of the wall.”

Now I ask you this~when are we stones on the wall offering protection and strength, and when are we stepping stones that provide guidance? I offer photos of both, of course! 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Prayer and Life

  1. jelillie says:

    “For me, prayer means launching out of the heart towards God” I love this word picture too! Thanks Kate

  2. Lyn says:

    St. Therese is my new best friend. I love this quote of hers and your analogy of swaddling and being held close to the heart of God. Beautiful! Thank you.

  3. I love how your mind works. And yes it reminds me of swaddling too. Thanks so much Late for always inspiring posts.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks….it amazed me then and amazes me now that swaddling works so well! kind of like putting a blanket over a bird cage, right? thanks and know that you inspire me too

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    “Launching out of the heart toward God”–now that’s what I’m talkin’ about!! That, and a “cry of grateful love”–are both so true to my experience with Him! And I love that snuggling your son so close, being ever-present to him, “made his world round again”–that is so perfect, Kate!! Wonderful post–truly lifted me up tonight. God bless your rest, Sister.

  5. Madeline Lund says:

    Not sure if I am a wall or a path today. Many troubles all around. Still I trust God will make make of me what he wills.

  6. This created a lovely and vivid image for me of binding myself to Jesus. Loved it!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks—i thought it was an interesting idea. it reminded me of when our children were little and we had to urge them to hold our hands tightly in a crowd or crossing the street or going down the stairs so that no harm would come to them!

  7. What a wonderful way to express how comforting being in prayer is…I love the images you share. I love to talk about prayer, I need to pray, and I always think what a wonderful mystery it is. I’ve never read the St. Patrick quote before, Kate, and it is just wonderful! Debra

Leave a Reply

