To the Re-Kindler

“Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into flame by another human being. Each of us owes deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this light. ” Albert Schweitzer.

Throughout my life there have been times when I have been filled with joy and hope. At those times I spread that light far and wide. I want to share it. I want others to have it and feel it. It doesn’t occur to me to do otherwise.

Then there are the other times in my life when my light has been blown out. How? Oh, sometimes it is after great difficulty, illness, or loss. sometimes it has been when my heart has been broken by someone’s thoughtlessness or cruelty. I know you know what I mean~we have each had loss and suffering in my life. In the midst of that, however, someone comes along to give you hope and restores your confidence. That is a lovely thing. Just as you are beginning to shiver in the darkness and cold, someone blows on the campfire of our life and lights up the sky.

What else can we do at those times but break out the marshmallows and sticks? That reminds me of a story that I have told before. It was told in a sermon by an eloquent priest. He spoke of a time before he became a priest. He was working with a group of troubled young people as they journeyed via bicycle in Europe. The destination was Paris and the journey lasted many weeks as I recall. He assigned himself to one particular young lady who was having great difficulty. In the wind and through the hills she had fallen a few times. The rest of the group had gotten further ahead of them. She descended another hill and fell off her bike once again on a bridge over a river. In total frustration she was sobbing and trying in her weakened condition to fling her bicycle over the bridge. At that point he reached her, got off his bike and put his hand upon the seat of her bicycle so she couldn’t lift the bicycle.

He smiled kindly, told her he knew it was hard, and that the road ahead was still tough. He told her ‘i can’t ride your bike for you, but i can ride beside you and carry your backpack as we go over the hills and on into Paris’. She straightened her shoulders, her sobs slowed and she handed him her backpack. She got on her bike once again and started out, and he followed. As she turned her head back toward him, she said that there were Belgian chocolates in the pack and he could have them….and they did go on over the hills and on, victoriously, into Paris. {The priest that told us the story was giving his last sermon at our parish before heading to another parish; at that point he told us to continue our rides~and he thanked US for the chocolates that we had given him {metaphorically speaking that is} }

So~we are truly called to be that way with each other; not to carry each other’s bicycles or let the person fling it overboard. But when one is weary, to carry that person’s pack….and ride on in to Paris. That hope, that fellowship, those prayers are the real response that rekindles the flames of our lives.

When that inspirational re-kindling happens~the flames are ablaze, we break out the marshmallows and sticks~and even the chocolates. We say to each other and to God: friendship and love and challenge and triumph…yes, let’s have S’more!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to To the Re-Kindler

  1. Beautiful post! If I happened to be a kid right now I would say “when I grow up, I would be a re-kindler”. I sincerely love the story and every bit of this post!

  2. Valerie Kennedy Buickerood says:

    That was beautiful. Thank you ❤

  3. joseyphina says:

    Great piece! God bless you for sharing.

  4. The Albert Schweitzer quote is so precious…and even more precious is that people reach out and rekindle each other’s flames…as you write…rekindling the flames of our lives.
    I’ve been fortunate enough to have had others rekindle my own flame…leading not just to a little candlelight, but to a big, bright and lively campfire!…. : ) Here you go… freshly lit…. : ) http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/other/rekindling-our-light/

  5. Debbie says:

    Kate – Oh yes! Let’s have S’more and carry each others packs!
    Well, put Kate!
    Debbie

  6. Lyn says:

    Beautiful. I am blessed to have an abundance of rekindlers, praise God!

  7. I like the term re-kindler. That’s one I’ll add to my vocabulary for sure. That is surely what you are, and it spreads! I like the addition of s’mores, too! Lovely way for me to go into my weekend, Kate. Debra

  8. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh this is So wonderful, yet again–I’m going to remember this one because it also addresses the limits of what we should do in our zeal to help: we are not bike-carriers, just pack-carriers. God bless you, Kate!

  9. diggingher says:

    What a beautiful and inspiring story. A real picture of how Jesus walks with us and how we should walk with others. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Inspiring message and a great reminder that we are not alone…

  11. TBM says:

    Mmmmm s’mores. I love them. Great message Kate. Life can be hard at times. I know I’ve been through my share of knocks, but my friends and my better half have always supported me. Just yesterday I thanked my better half for all the love and support over the years. It is good to have those who can rekindle and it is good to help someone rekindle. It is a two-way street for me.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know; the lovely give and take in life is such an awesome thing. through the travails of life, we are given so much to see us through. we are given so many chances to give back!!

  12. Pingback: 4/13/2012 “Friday Wishes”… Rekindling each other’s light « Reflections From a Friend

  13. Pingback: “Friday wishes”…rekindling each other’s light…. | Pocket Perspectives

  14. Terri O.A. says:

    So enjoyed the post Kate, and the quote!! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks—gee i can’t believe i didn’t see this before. there were a few that i didn’t see. it must have been when i was have trouble with my comments section on my dashboard. sorry about that!

  15. This is so beautiful 🙂 ♥

  16. “There is not enough darkness in all the world to put out the light of even one small candle.” ~Robert Alden
    “A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out, till he has brought justice through to victory.”
    Matthew 12:20 and Isaiah 42:3 NIV

  17. Smores — made with Belgian chocolates — what an idea! Thanks for this rich post. ❤

  18. jelillie says:

    Loved this what a beautiful illustration of Galatians 6:2!

  19. Pingback: “Friday wishes…”…. generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement | Pocket Perspectives

  20. Hi Kate…I thought it was time to offer “Friday wishes” again and so just posted the images and linked back to this post where I first saw the Albert Schweitzer quote….such a lovely and wonderful quote and ideas…thank you, again, for your inspiration. Continuing blessings and warm smiles to you…. : ) kathy (PP)

  21. Pingback: Wishes for generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement « Reflections From a Friend

  22. Pingback: “Friday wishes…”…. generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement | Pocket Perspectives

  23. Pingback: Wishes for generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement | Reflections From a Friend

  24. Pingback: “Friday wishes…”…. generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement | Pocket Perspectives

  25. Pingback: “Friday wishes…” generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement | Pocket Perspectives

  26. Pingback: “Friday wishes…” offering generosity, kindness, love, compassion and encouragement | Pocket Perspectives

Leave a Reply

