Transfigure Me O Lord

When I was out driving around today, I really noticed the mountains. Do you know how sometimes you drive around and you don’t really “see” what is around you? With me that happens if I am thinking ahead to what I still have to do that day. It also happens if I am very focused on the traffic. But today, I really noticed the mountains. Phoenix is one of the few bit cities in the U.S. that is completely surrounded by various mountain ranges. That really surprised me when I moved here. I did not expect there to be any mountains, let alone multiple mountain ranges.

Anyway, the sky looked so pretty and blue and sunny. the mountains looked pink, and purple, and all kinds of hues. I began to think about the Scripture story about Jesus’ Transfiguration. You know, the one where He takes Peter James and John up the mountain and then He is transfigured, showing Him in all His glory. Elijah and Moses show up as well. Peter [my favorite apostle] freaks out and starts talking about building tents….I really love Peter!

Now, when we allow God’s presence to transform us in our lives~so that we are filled with His presence, and we leave behind our selfishness and flaws, we also share a bit in that Transfiguration. My grandma would call that a mountaintop experience. Our lives have many ups and downs. We have mountaintop and valley experiences. It takes great effort to climb high mountains. There are times that we want just teensy-tiny challenges~hills instead of mountains….

But that is not what is best for us. In order to have deepening experiences, we need big challenges. Many of my friends/bloggers face MAJOR challenges….I mean REALLY major. I cannot speak for you. But I know for myself that when I have climbed major difficulties, loss, challenges, etc, I also have an experience of God that stays with me for a long time. That is a good thing. We may wish that we are made for flat lands. But really, we are made for mountains. I pray today that we may remember to have the steadfastness and creativity to tackle our mountains, climb them, conquer them~and enjoy the view along the way and at the summit.

As we climb, as we face our difficulties.~let us say Alleluia; even if the words can barely make it past our lips. Sometimes the Alleluia feeling comes AFTER the Alleluia statement! That, in actuality, is our transfiguration, isn’t it? 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Transfigure Me O Lord

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    So SO true, Kate! God bless you today.

  2. auntyuta says:

    You make me see the mountains in a new way. Thank you for this beautiful piece of writing.

  3. pbus1 says:

    Wonderful post, Kate! I thoroughly enjoyed it! May you experience His presence, again and again today!

    Paulette

  4. pbus1 says:

    Every round goes higher and higher! Hallelujah!

    Paulette

  5. katia68 says:

    When we are weak He is strong for us!
    Beautiful post, grazie!

  6. fgassette says:

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. Reading it reminded me of a book I read awhile ago by Hannah Hurnard called Hinds’ Feet on High Places. An allegory dramatizing the journey each of us must take before we can learn the secret of living in the high places.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  7. I will think of “Transfigure Me O Lord” when I do notice my mountains–what a nice way to start my day, although I admit that sometimes that prayer comes with acknowledging there might need to be some challenges intended specifically to bring about the answer to that prayer! That takes a little faith. The San Gabriel Mountains are not a huge range, but they are prominent and I see them every day as I leave home and drive to work. My children tease me that growing up we never got in a car that I didn’t make sure they took proper notice of their beauty. Now my granddaughters are also aware. My whole life I have looked at them and repeated portions of Psalm 121: “I will lift up mine yes until the hills…” a precious prayer! Thanks, Kate. Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Isn’t it amazing ho the sunlight throughout the day makes the mountains change colors and look completely different? I love when I have a day that I took time throughout the day and evening to notice the beauty and specialnesss all aroun be. Thanks,Debra~

  8. jelillie says:

    “[It is] God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect. He maketh my feet like hinds’ [feet], and setteth me upon my high places. He teacheth my hands to war, so that a bow of steel is broken by mine arms.” Psalm 18: 32-34Can’t wait until I reach the top and the mountains are cast down before me! Thanks for the encouragement today Kate!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Amen to that! Earlier in the comments Francine and i were discussing the boo by Hannah Hurnard entitled “Hinds Feet on High Places”. Have you read it and the sequel. Have you read them? He does set our feet on the high places…

  9. And throughout our lives no matter what we do…He never leaves our sides, always showering us with a love, that jumps out from our smiles to everyone…He is the true lasting power of our lives and through that power we become true overcomers in this life! And through spirit filled eyes we see the true beauty of all His treasures in a new light! Very nice Kate!

  10. niasunset says:

    Thank you for sharing with us your experience, I felt the power of these mountains… But I know it was the light in you. God Bless you dear Kate, with my love, nia

  11. Maria Tatham says:

    Yes, Kate, we are changed from glory to glory. We don’t pick the mountains. They’re THERE and must be climbed, right? No choice. It is so inspiring to think of all the time Jesus spent walking.

    So glad your Phoenix is surrounded by beauty. Mountains are formidable but breathtraking.

    Bless you for taking us to AZ for a bit, to AZ with the Lord!

    Maria

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I have been meaning to look up the distances that He walked during His ministry. You are right~we do not choose the size of our mountains, we just must climb….with Him and to Him…..I wish that my photographs could do the mountains justice!

  12. Pingback: TRANSFIGURATION: HOW JESUS CHRIST’S GLORY WAS REVEALED | KEVIN NUNEZ

Leave a Reply

