Except for the Lord

You know that I love music and lyrics….song and melody can get right to the heart of things. I have been feeling introspective and reflective these past few days. Easter does that to me; there is so much to take in, so much to re-realize….at our Easter vigil there was some music that really helped me to do it. I am going to include some lyrics from a few songs.

The first is from a song called “Come to the Water”

“And let all who toil,
let them come to the water.
And let all who are weary,
let them come to the Lord:
all who labor, without rest.
How can your soul find rest,
except for the Lord?”

Ah~that verse fills me with relief, and yes some tears….don’t we feel oh so overcome and exhausted at times? It reminds me of the Hawaiian Ironman Competition from many years ago. One of the women that was competing was delirious with exhaustion and collapsed a few feet from the finish line….I can’t remember for sure what happened, but I think someone helped her to her feet and helped her stagger across the finish line….I think God does that with us sometimes…. 

Then there is a verse from a song called”River of Glory””

“River of glory, springs of our birth,
flood of God’s riches poured on the earth.
We are born from the darkness
and clothed in the light!
We are bathed in the glory of God!”

Now what does that make you think of? It makes me think of how great I feel after a fabulous bath, shower, or swim….and to be literally bathed in the glory of God~WOW! Bathed in His glory?? He welcomes us home to Him each day. We are covered in His glory….here is the final verse of the same song…isn’t it just so perfect?

“Darkness is banished,
night turned away.
Christ is our sunlight,
lifting and leading our way!”

Really and truly, darkness is banished…night is really turned away. We are born into eternal light and everlasting morning. We need not fear the tests and difficulties. He is with us.

No wonder we can say, with complete and total confidence and knowledge, no matter what our current circumstances may happen to be on this day: We are an Easter people; and Alleluia IS our song.

May you always know that Jesus holds you close to His heart; we are but wee chicks in His pocket. 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Except for the Lord

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    This is wonderful, as always, Kate–I’m relieved to hear I wasn’t the only one having a weepy-moving Easter week–by last night I was cried out and exhausted. I don’t know if you can find him, but Michael O’Brien is a fabulous contemporary gospel singer from my “home” online church (Gateway Church) in Southlake, TX–he has at least one CD, the title may be “Be Still My Soul”. Anyhow, he sang a song I know you would love, called, “God’s Glorious Light”–and I “attended” 6 of the 7 services from Good Friday thru Sunday, so I heard it 6 times!! Very powerful voice, beautiful lyrics. Thanks again, God bless you!

  2. auntyuta says:

    “….song and melody can get right to the heart of things..”
    I couldn’t agree more, Kate. I love spiritual songs.
    The chick in the pocket is vey cute!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Uta. Perhaps we have musical souls, eh? and yeh, i thought the chick in the pocket was so very cute. reminded me of when my son was little and ever so sweet and gentle with animals.

  3. eof737 says:

    This is a beautiful post… love the lyrics to the songs too. 😉

  4. Pingback: introspection, courage, and shame « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Leave a Reply

