Strutting Out With A Happy ‘Tude ~ Because of Jesus

It is Good Friday. Good Friday is a somber day because of all that we commemorate; Jesus’ ultimate sacrifice for our sins. However, it is a joyous day, too. He is, indeed, the source of our salvation~and the source of love. He strengthens me and helps me be steadfast in my efforts to do what is right. I march forward in confidence today. I am ready to take on my challenges and know that any difficulties and losses I have faced and will face will not be endured alone.

When my son was younger and he had occasions when he would whine or complain about being told “No, he couldn’t do something” he would say “I just want to know why”. This of course had been preceded by a lengthy argument. I would look at him cooly and calmly, and say “No, you don’t want to know why. You just want more fuel for your argument”. He’d say “you say you want me to be curious, and i just want to know why”. then I would smile; there was a flaw. I said “You never once have asked me why, or wondered ‘why is this happening to me’ when I tell you yes”. Every time, that stopped his argument cold. It is the same with us and God, isn’t it? We tend to question the no’s and the difficulties, but not necessarily the blessings. The past few weeks I have been astounded in looking back over my life. Despite the various sufferings and difficulties, the blessings far outweigh them. The blessings are frequently intangible and not measurable in earthly terms. I am grateful. Oh so very grateful. {AND I FINISHED MY TAXES!!!}….

Anyway, Jesus marches beside me. sometimes we walk, sometimes we march, sometimes we skip, and sometimes we run….So today~with my chains gone, my taxes done, my spring cleaning about to begin (it will be a hustling day) and Jesus at my side, I am thankful, filled with laughter and hope. I am ready to strut~straight to His arms, with my heart full of prayer…

I remember when I was a little girl and all the way through elementary school. My mom would sew us new pretty clothes for Easter (a dress for me and sport coats and pants for my little brothers). More often than not, she would scour remnant tables for the fabric, or cut up old clothes of her’s and dad’s. We felt so special in our new garb. Of course back then hats for girls and ladies were very much in vogue. So we would head to the store for a pretty Easter bonnet.

On Easter morning when my mom and I came into the kitchen to head to Easter Mass, my dad and brothers would be standing at attention awaiting our arrival. When we walked in wearing our finery and our Easter hats, my dad would ALWAYS serenade us with the song In Your Easter Bonnet. It was in the movie musical Easter Parade starring the amazing Judy Garland and the classy Fred Astaire. I mean he sang that song to us  every single Easter. He continued to sing it every year~even though we didn’t always have Easter hats/bonnets. It was one of his traditions. Dad has been gone since 8/2007….so he no longer is around to sing about Easter bonnets…I treasure that memory. Without hearing that song on Easter morning, a bit of my treasured childhood is gone. But the memory remains….and oh do I treasure that. I continue that tradition; I will call my mom and sing it to her on Easter morning….

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Strutting Out With A Happy ‘Tude ~ Because of Jesus

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Kate, you’re the greatest; you have great stories for us, and always that joyful spirit which I so relate to. And hey, congrats on getting the taxes done–yippee!!! God bless you abundantly.

  2. Freedomborn says:

    I enjoyed your Easter bonnet Kate, how precious are the little things that have brought joy into our lives or that remind us of our Loved ones, I don’t have many good memories of my past only since I became a Christian since then Jesus has given me many.

    Thank you for sharing Kate, I couldn’t help it I just had to sing along and swing the hips a bit too but yes the inner Joy of our Friendship with The Lord can not be surpassed.

    Christian Love and Blessings from both of us – Anne

  3. What a wonderful post! You share Easter every post, Kate. It’s good to reflect in a special way this Holy weekend, but I think you point to the blessings of Jesus resurrection do regularly! I know your Easter Sunday will be particularly meaningful to you! May God continue to richly bless you…you are such a blessing to others! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Debra~that is one of the most amazing things to comment! I DO try to point to Jesus’ blessings most days. How can we not see His blessings in the moments of our days? His fingerprints are everywhere….May your Easter be extraordinarily blessed, Debra-with love, Kate

  4. fgassette says:

    Happy and blessed Easter to you and your family.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  5. eof737 says:

    Happy Belated Easter! I’m finally catching up but will have to come back and comment later on other posts. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

