In the Peaceful Quiet, I Walk With God

I love imagery, music, metaphor, poetry, art, nature…all things beautiful. This lovely photo is one I have posted before. It is at the Riparian Preserve near our library. I like to look at the photo and imagine myself walking into this preserve, and encountering Jesus face to face. We would meet here regularly and walk together. I could tell Him all that is in my heart, and listen to Him. We could just walk in peaceful, loving silence.

When I do go walking here, the sounds of the birds are ever-present, and, this being AZ, there are many hummingbirds. One of these days, I will snap some photos of hummingbirds. Of course, I get so fascinated by the trees, paths, and ponds, that I forget to photograph the birds!

This week I have been working on our taxes, compiling spreadsheets, and pulling receipts together. I know, you are jealous and would love to do that this week too! Maybe you ARE! Anyway, when I look at all the expenditures we have been through, it worries me. I try very hard at those times to put our financial future in God’s hands. Worry won’t change the past, and there is only a limited amount of planning available when there are multiple medical situations in our family. As they say~it is what it is~. BUT…

What is available to me is this: the ability to rejoice. The ability to be grateful….the opportunity to increase our faith….so that is what I shall do.

In the peaceful quiet, I walk with God…..of course, in the mornings, that makes me think of my old buddy Cat Stevens….I bet you can think of which song, right? I will embed it here, of course!

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In the Peaceful Quiet, I Walk With God

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    I don’t leave home much, but if I did, I’d love to come visit and see this lovely walk in person–and visit your library–and you!! God bless you muchly!

  2. Maria Tatham says:

    Kate, I love this picture and clicked on it so that it downloaded in greater detail. Yes, to walk with Jesus — no fear of harm, only goodness and love and joy you cannot explain that wells up in us. Sorry about your medical concerns! Someday such wearing concerns will be gone. Someday, we will actually walk with Him side by side! Or flock around Him like children perfectly safe and full of fun and love.

  3. Anne says:

    Thank you Kate,
    What a wonderful post. I too needed this today. I just returned from my favorite walking path where I connect with Jesus, the birds and the flowers. Today, I saw the very first buttercups coming up. They are so cute and such a precious little gift from God. Through their little yellow faces, they reminded me that we are all so blessed.. I say a prayer for you today, and hope that Jesus will ease your worries too.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      The buttercups!!! Love them….it reminds me of picking dandelions when I was tiny and bringing them to my mom. she always received them as though they were the most precious and beautiful flowers in the whole world. We are blessed, you and I, in so very many ways. Our hearts are forever entwined~for the most precious reasons. God bless you today and everyday. xoxox

  4. The best times are the quiet times spent with the rest of his creation…sitting back and breathing it all in!

  5. Oh…morning has broken…such a beautiful song..thank you for posting that. We played that song just before we got married…27 years ago tomorrow, on an exquisitely beautiful, cool, clear morning, outside on a deck, 2 days after a huge snowstorm, on a mountainside overlooking Lake Tahoe…an exquisitely beautiful morning on a remarkably wonderful day…grateful am I….

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Springtime bride…me too! You March, me, April…Happy anniversary. I love the song and will cherish it even more now that you have added your memory…Have a blessed day and weekend…

      • ahhhh….springtime brides… : ) Thank you so much for your kind wishes for a happy anniversary…I think that “morning has broken” has a tender spot in many people’s hearts…as I mentioned in the email, I added the words from the song to a post I made today about our “unusual” wedding…a happy memory….and blessings to you, too for a peaceful day and weekend.
        btw….what is that beautiful tree that’s on the sides of your blog?….the green “bark” is lovely.

        • Kate Kresse says:

          I am so behind in my comments and email….The tree is one that is very prevalent in the desert areas it is called a Palo Verde tree. I just love them!! The style of branches and large number of branches reminds me of my beloved maple tree at my folks house in Ohio. the leaves remind me a bit of my beloved weeping willow trees from various places I have lived. I hope you had a lovely anniversary!!!

  6. The Riparian Reserve is just beautiful, Kate. What a lovely place to walk and pray and meditate…turning it all over the Lord. I hear your concerns this time of year…whatever financial concerns there are year-round, they seem so much more concentrated and overwhelming at tax time! I love your reminder to everyone that even our financial worries are important to God. And thanks so much for Cat Stevens! The memorial service we attended on Sunday was a chance to hear the soloist sing this song…but not before he mentioned, Cat Stevens, and yes, I did know what song was coming next. Apparently it was our friend Art’s favorite song! So lovely. Peace…Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Dear Debra~absolutely. We must turn it all over to Him. We cannot gain proper perspective unless we do. …You are welcome for the Cat Stevens song….I just loved him when I was in college…I about wore out Tea for the Tillerman!! I am sorry about your loss~ you and his friends and family will be in my prayers.

      God bless your day and weekend….

  7. eof737 says:

    Beautiful post… TY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

