BFFs, Ya-Yas, Twins, and Cousins

In my life there have been magical, mystical moments and times. Some of the ones dearest to my heart have been moments when I have felt so incredibly connected, alive, loved, understood, accepted…..moments when I feel I have discovered a long-lost twin; times when I have met my soul sister; times when I have re-connected and spent time with someone who has known me for almost forever ~ or just a little while. In each of these, you reach a point where you can complete each others’ sentences. Times when you are just so understood, affirmed, and loved. When I was a kid I loved the Patty Duke show. I had no sisters, I had girlfriends and cousins (male and female). Yet I felt as tho these friends and cousins were like my sisters…when I was a kid we actually believed at times that we were identical; I loved that lovely thought. It is dear to my heart that there are so many connections between special girlfriends. I would assume guys have similar experiences, but I do not have direct experience of how guys feel. But I know I dearly love my girlfriends….the near ones, the far ones, and the ones I have yet to even meet face-to-face, but I know them here via WordPress.

Anyway, through my various re-locations during my life, I have been gifted with amazing girlfriends. They are my ya-yas, my sisters, my soul-cousins, and my actual cousins. I love finding new things in common with each of my long-standing and new twins. How God must cherish me to have entrusted so many girlfriends to me….Now, if I have been apart from a girlfriend (or cousin) for an extended period of time and I arrive at her house (or she mine, or we meet someplace) our reaction is ALWAYS the same. I have to say it completely baffles yet amuses my husband.

We see each other a bit of a distance apart. We SCREAM!. We run towards each other and embrace….My husband thinks the scream part is hilarious. Guys don’t usually do that. I have wondered how it is that these women continue to cherish me. I felt lucky to have them in my life when we lived in the same town. to still have them as a gift in my life despite the fact that we have been apart for years is…profound. And now, dear WP friends, I have been gifted with more. My dearest wish is that all my BFFs, Ya-Yas, Twins, and Cousins could all meet in one place in this lifetime. I know you would all be crazy about each other. We could dance, scream, laugh, hug, sing, rejoice, eat and just sit around a campfire or coffee table and be together.

Sigh…I can dream, right?  

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to BFFs, Ya-Yas, Twins, and Cousins

  1. So sorry I’ve been on the blink, lately. Expecting huge company and must clean, clean, clean instead of blog, blog, blog. I KNOW you were trying to draw me out of the woodwork with that post title! 😀 I’m not much of a screamer, but I make up for it in coffee. HA!
    Love ya, girl, and sometime, somewhere, when you least expect it, your inbox will say, “SMILE–She-e-e-e-e’s ba-a-a-ack!
    How’s that for mixed metaphors! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I look forward to that! I somehow knew you had family/company stuff going on. What fun~ I hope everyone has a lovely time~ when you come back, i will be right here. i’ll have the coffee on.

  2. Maggie L R says:

    Friends are so important, you are fortunate to have special people in your life.. which can only mean that YOU are a good friend to others.

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Kate, this just melts my heart and makes me laugh with joy and love for you!! I guarantee, if you and I were to meet–there would be mutual screaming involved! When my “new Sis” Deb (Deb’s Blog) occasionally calls me from half way across the country, my first reaction is not “Hi! how are you?”, but huge squealing of delight! Like we’re in Jr high or something! So, yeah–I so get you on this one!!! Sending you hugs (turn down the audio) and squeals and screams, sis Caddo Have a much blessed weekend, by the way (and I’m eating delicious corned beef sandwiches on rye…)!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Glad the corned beef came out delicious. Love and joy and screams laughter and prayers to you too. Have a wonderful, wonderful weekend. Love to you, sis Caddo~ sis Kate

  4. Terri O.A. says:

    Sounds wonderful Kate!

  5. reneeboomer says:

    Another beautiful post!! big hugz.. 🙂

  6. That is the nicest of fantasies! How lovely! Makes me smile just to think of it…Debra

  7. Anne says:

    Thank you Kate,
    Your stories touch that part of me that connects all of us together!! Yeah for girlfriends!! They make the world (my world that is) go round!! I can still count on one hand the close girlfriends that my mother said I would have for life… Love, joy, laughter and peace; what better gifts could we receive…Have a wonderful day 🙂

  8. There is nothing quite like sisterhood! I know EXACTLY what you mean!

  9. I once saw an “I miss you” card that said:
    We should rearrage the alphabet . . .
    . . . so “u” and “i” could be closer together.
    Cute, eh?

Leave a Reply

