How Strong Do You Stand?

I thought I had published this on Sunday, March 18th. In looking back through my posts today (3/22) I discovered I had clicked ‘save draft’ instead of publish. Perhaps I had not had my coffee yet….Anyway, although today is 3/22, I am keeping my published date as 3/22~but with this little explanation at the top.

What does that little poster at the beginning of my post  mean to you? It says to me that we are not guaranteed friendships, supporters, followers. It reminds me that everyone has times when people cause them pain. But the test is to stand strong. If your “house” is built on a solid foundation, and is built to withstand troubles, you will be able to stand strong.

Understandably, there will be times when you may feel exhausted, stomp your foot, and not want to have troubles, hurt, and pain. But how shocked can we be when people reject us and talk evil towards or about us? Yes it is painful. Yes, we don’t necessarily expect it. by this point in my life, I try to go into automatic gear when it happens. After all, I do not have a tantrum or go into a decline each time it rains or snows, do I? Of course not; that would be completely ridiculous! I put on my coat, grab my umbrella (or shovel, in the case of snow) and move on. I don’t sit all day and night and wonder why it is raining or snowing in my yard ~ and ask what I have done to deserve it….

Difficulties are opportunities. Hurt and rejection are chances to lean on god and chances to examine our own consciences. Was there something we did that caused the hurt-er to lash out? That is something in our own characters that we need to fix. Is the hurt-er going through a horrible time? That is an opportunity to be compassionate. Is the hurt-er in the habit of doing this to you on a continual basis? that is an opportunity to back off and not give them open opportunities to hurt you. So, you see ~ there are a lot of ways to stand strong.

We can be mighty and strong yet gentle. Stay steadfast and faithful. “Be the change you want to see”.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope you are having a good week. May God and loved ones give you strength and joy.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Friendship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How Strong Do You Stand?

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Excellent word, Kate!! “Be the change you want to see”–hmmm–I hope I’m doing that in my little neighborhood. Maybe. Thank you, and God bless you!

  2. fgassette says:

    Words of wisdom. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. Kate Kresse says:

    Thanks ~ bless you too.

  4. joseyphina says:

    Great piece! Powerful words! God bless you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

