Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual. The 3/16 challenge is to post photo(s) that are in some way unusual. The photo below is of a simple red parking meter. The concept behind it is not one bit simple ~ it is beautiful and brilliant.  These parking meters are scattered throughout pedestrian friendly shopping and restaurant areas in Tempe, AZ. These meter are to help the homeless who are often reduced to panhandling. The idea is that if you wish to help them, you put change into these meters. An organization distributes the money to those in need. It seems to work and be a big help. Pedestrians and motorists alike notice the meters and kindly put their money into the meters. The program is called “Give Change for Change”.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Sketches, quilts, photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. pix & kardz says:

    what a brilliant idea!
    and happy St Patrick’s Day to you! 🙂

  2. jfb57 says:

    Well I’ve never seen them before so definitely unusual to me!

    BTW – love the clovers for St Patrick’s Day!

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Very interesting. What a great idea.

  4. Gilly Gee says:

    Brilliant idea I hope people are generous!

  5. Rebekah says:

    Brilliant!!! Good choice for the theme too! Many towns and cities should copy this..

  6. Judy says:

    I love this idea! Every town should adopt this awesome idea from Tempe! What wonderful people live there! You must live there too, Kate! Love the photo! Red is a fave color of mine!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Tempe is in the Phoenix metro area. I live in Gilbert, which is also in the metro area, but further out from downtown Phoenix than Tempe. I love red too…And yes, the Phoenix area is a wonderful area. We love it here.

      • Judy says:

        AZ is certainly beautiful. We stayed with college friends a year ago in Scottsdale and my niece lives near the White Tank Mts, and we did some hiking with them. I loved the whole area. We also stayed with college friends outside of Tucson in the Oro Valley. All beautiful areas. That’s when I went to Taliesin West. My g-friends and I spent a week in Sedona too last yr. It was my first trip to AZ. So different from MI!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          Oh my~you saw some of the most gorgeous parts of the state…The vegetation, the landscape, the skyscape ~ it is all so vastly different from the Midwest. I lived in the Midwest and out East. but When we moved here 8 years ago I fell in love with the beauty of the place.

  7. jakesprinter says:

    Great entry Kate 🙂

  8. Nice idea, simple and easy to work and worthwhile. Hat’s off to whoever thought of it and put it into practise.

  9. I love it and definitely unusual!

  10. Very clever idea, I hope the meters are well used!

  11. Cris says:

    Well, isn’t that interesting!? That’s certainly a new one for me, a rather unobtrusive way to give.

    Please feel free to drop by and view my interpretation of Contrast:
    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2012/03/10/weekly-photo-challenge-contrast/

  12. Kate, this is a wonderful program! I’ve never heard of anything remotely like it! Thanks for sharing about it. It’s an idea that needs to spread! Debra

  13. An unusual but brilliant idea to help others. There are so many people who need our help and this is one way to make it easier for others to share. They may be coins or even a dollar but image that on a larger scale. The world is full of people needing our assistance. It’s time to give back. Beautiful post!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      All it takes is everyone doing something. If enough people participate, it adds up quickly. The world is full of people looking for ways to help. Alleluia for that ~ God gives us the opportunity to become compassionate by showing us those in need.

  14. Nice idea. Never would have thought of that.

  15. It’s a great idea but I couldn’t see it catching on in the UK. too many organisations would want to get involved…

  16. Gracie says:

    What a brilliant idea! Something that a lot of the cities should do as well.

  17. Caddo Veil says:

    This really is BRILLIANT!!

  18. What an ingenious operation. Simple, easy to use, visible and engaging. That can make a difference for all of us. Yay for the smart people who started this and are now making it work!

  19. Love the concept and brightly colored snapshot.

  20. ElizOF says:

    Great idea . I like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

