Bossed Around By a Fortune Cookie

Today is Friday and life is good. My son and I had some Chinese food for lunch today, and of course had fortune cookies for dessert. They are so much fun, and sometimes even give you food for thought. When I opened mine up, this is what the fortune said, punctuation and all: “You  find beauty in ordinary things. Do not lose this ability.” To which I say “aye, aye captain”! 

Now what the fortune said happened to be true. I do find beauty in ordinary things. that has always been the case. Whether it was in the simple thoughtful act of a little child helping her grandmother by getting her glasses for her, or a pretty red songbird, 

or any number of other things, there is beauty everywhere.  And the commanding statement “do not lose this ability” pretty much says it all. As the physical therapists say ‘use it or lose it’. So today, on yet another brilliantly sunny day in gorgeous Arizona I plan to head to our nature preserve, called the Riparian Preserve. I hope to find many wonderful things to photograph. My son and I will walk, and talk, and photograph, and stop and sit and just watch God’s beautiful corner of the world. What a lovely way to begin the weekend. I love to try to see something really beautiful about simple things: like the wood on a bench; or the ripples on a lake: or how the sun lights up the tucked away corners of the forests…..and I love to watch the water fowl (in our case, ducks, geese, and an occasional heron) meander along the paths and back into the water. They walk unhurriedly as if they have all the time in the world. That is true, of course. 

In a sense, so do we!. We have the whole 24 hour day to enjoy 24 hours — or at least to fill the day with as much love and appreciation as we can. Have a blessed, blessed day. Look for butterflies!

Later today I plan to post my super-easy recipe for my favorite Irish feast: Corned Beef and Cabbage (and other veggies). I do it in the crock pot. I started that a few years ago after having to keep the stockpot from boiling over on the stove top.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bossed Around By a Fortune Cookie

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    I LOVE fortune cookies, Kate! Can’t wait for your crock pot recipe–I always cooked my corned beef on the stove, like mom, but in the store this week, an older lady told me she puts hers in the oven. Crock pots are the 8th wonder of the world, so I’m just waitin’ on you, Sis!!

  2. reneeboomer says:

    Love fortune cookies too! Beautiful post Kate! 🙂

  3. I feel the same way about appreciating the beauty around us. I took photos yesterday in my garden of the simplest signs of spring. I just had fun paying attention! Have a joyful weekend, Kate, but I already know you will! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      springtime photos are so much fun and hope-filled. When I lived in OH I loved the forsythia bushes and magnolia trees when they were in bloom…(and the hyacinths, crocuses, tulips, and daffodils too)

  4. Pingback: FEELING THE LOVE « Francine In Retirement

Leave a Reply

