Begorrah ~ ‘Tis the Brisket

I am going to be making my corned beef and cabbage tomorrow. For years I battled my stockpot and water boiling over. Then I decided to make it in my crock pot instead. Once I did that, I have never gone back. It is so easy ~ and has come out great for me every time. I am sharing my recipe here. I use a 5-qt crock pot. But if I use more cabbage or veggies, I use the larger crock pot. If you have a huge crock pot you can either throw in extra veggies and potatoes, or put some foil across midway up….

Corned Beef and Cabbage in the Crock Pot (cook for 8-9 hours on low).

A. Final Ingredient Step (I know, I started at the end)

  • 1 corned beef brisket (oh the usual size about 2 3/4 – 3lbs more or less). I often cut it in half to get it to fit nice.
  •  1 head of cabbage, washed and chopped into wedges.

B. Bunchy stuff

  • red potatoes ~ either new potatoes, or bigger reds quartered (scrubbed but unpeeled)
  • 2 onions cut up in wedges (use less if you don’t like them)
  • baby carrots or cut up carrots (1 pound or lots more if you like them!)
  •  A couple of parsnips if you love them ~ or skip them

C. Pour-y Stuff: Combine: 

  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  •  2 T sugar
  • 2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • spice packet that came with the brisket
  •  3 cups water
  • 1 or 2 bay leaves
  • Instructions: 
  • Put everything from part B (the Bunchy stuff) in the bottom of the crock pot. Then combine all the ingredients from step C (the pour-y stuff). Pour all of it over the bunch-y stuff in the crock pot. Then put the brisket on top of that and the cabbage on top of everything. Put the cover on. Cook that delicious stuff on low for 8-9 hours depending on your crock pot cooking speed. Be sure to remove the bay leaf before you serve it. Should be plenty for 6 – 8 people, or 3 teenage boys. It smells SO good while it’s cooking.;  enjoy!!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Begorrah ~ ‘Tis the Brisket

  1. Gilly Gee says:

    Kate I love the way you’ve written your recipe it sounds divine even though I don’t eat meat I can appreciate it 🙂

  2. Kate Kresse says:

    I bet it would work as well without the brisket–as a stew! It is delicious, though!

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Thanks!! I printed it and will try it your way! Love the way you write “bunch-y stuff and pour-y stuff”!! Maybe you should do a cookbook next??

  4. fiztrainer says:

    Mmmmm … definitely have to try this. Thanks so much … 😀

  5. Kate Kresse says:

    it is definitely yummy!

  6. Yummo! I love that we have this kindred background Kate. My mom’s food on St Patrick’s, Good Friday, and Easter were always Springs Blessings in my family. Though I can recreate it still never taste like mom’s. What’s up with that? It took me 41 yrs to get her pot roast and roasted vegies down.

  7. misswhiplash says:

    I have just bought a crock pot so I have saved your recipe and I shall try it out thank you Kate

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i hope you enjoy it. I love using the crock pot. I throw dinner together in the morning. It is perfect for me and my family, as we sometimes each arrive home at different times due to our work schedules.

Leave a Reply

