Wouldn’t It Be Fun If Life Was a Musical Play?

When I was growing up, my folks loved musicals. They were huge fans of movie musicals and musical plays, too. The loved Gene Kelly and so do I. My dad would sometimes break into “the old soft shoe” in our house just for the heck of it. He loved Yankee Doodle Dandy, Singling in the Rain, American in Paris and oh so many more. We all loved them. Now my husband is an engineer. For some reason he finds it not one bit credible that people can be walking around and suddenly burst into song just to get their point across. For instance, in the movie Paint Your Wagon, all those scraggly old gold prospectors just didn’t strike him as the glee club types!! Yet to this day neither of us can hear the name Mariah without thinking of the song “They Call the Wind Mariah” from that same song. And who can EVER think of a more definitive song and dance about the exuberance of being in love without picturing Gene Kelly dancing and singing in the rain. I can’t help it; I have to give you the link to it.

Now, despite my husband’s less than huge thrill at musical theater—when it came to marrying me, his joy was much like the man in the other link sings about “going home with bonny jean”. So I hope that you can see that if we all did occasionally burst into song and dance maybe the world wouldn’t seem quite so gloomy some days!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Wouldn’t It Be Fun If Life Was a Musical Play?

  1. I love music and I’m an engineer! People are different and appreciate life’s beauty through different mediums. For us, it may be music, for some others, it’s either the colours, tastes, movement or warmth. We all have different sensitivity towards different things. Gloom is a choice. Let’s choose to grin instead!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      My hubby loves music–just thinks musical plays themselves are silly. On the other hand if he listens to a recording from that musical–that’s fine! Absolutely choose to grin…as Judy Garland sang “Put on a happy face”!

  2. I love musicals, they put a happy spin on life!

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    My husband loves musicals and his favorite one is Oklahoma ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. AlohaKarina says:

    Oh goodness, another similiarity. I LOVE Gene Kelly too! I never saw him in person, but I at least saw Donald O’Connor in SHOWBOAT in San Francisco when I was a kid. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Did you ever see the Gene Kelly movie, “Cover Girl”? That’s one of my favorites. Love it!

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    I am so glad you mentioned “Paint Your Wagon”–gosh I loved that one, saw it over and over. Love the music, and yes, “Mariah” is so beautiful!! God bless you.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      We saw it a few years before the movie performed on stage by a local college. It was even better than the movie, if you can believe that ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you, too

  6. Gilly Gee says:

    I would like to be able to burst into song but if I did the area would clear ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. It’s like we grew up next door to each other. I am always surprised.

  8. TBM says:

    I love musicals. For me I will burst into song in my home, but for some reason my loved ones laugh more than sing along ๐Ÿ™‚ It doesn’t stop me though. Music is important in our home.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Isn’t it fun to just burst out singing? When my son was little and i was completely exasperated with him one day, I sang him my”lecture” ~ he was so surprised he actually listened!! [he had reached an age where his initial reaction was to tune me out—so it was fun to have a quick attention grabber for a change!]

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    First-time visitor via Debra at BreatheLighter. The old musicals are classics … and because their spirit live, Broadway will continue to churn future classics.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Welcome to you! I am so glad you stopped by. I peeked in at your world and was so delighted. You have a wonderful blog! and you are right, Broadway will continue to churn out future classics~and revive the oldies but goodies. I am glad they do both so well.

  10. Cee Neuner says:

    I so love Singing in the Rain!!!! Thanks for the cheer up!

  11. i burst into song all the time! Ha! I also love musical theater and until my granddaughters were born had seasons tix to multiple Los Angeles theaters. I had a different schedule that allowed me to go on the “cheap” mid-week nights and I had some wonderful opportunities. In the past four years I’ve changed my work schedule to accommodate at leas one day a week with the girls…theater isn’t quite as affordable. But I plot and plan and still go as often as i can. I think a good musical lifts the spirit. And in between live theater, the movies will do just fine! Glad we have that in common, Kate! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      me too, Debra! Our local community college puts on some terrific plays and musicals and it only costs about 5 or 6 bucks to see a performance! the high schools are only about 4 or 5 bucks. they are all so enjoyable!

  12. Madeline Lund says:

    I think even people who won’t admit it have some music in their head at times. The musical, the commercial jingle, hymn and the pop songs of our youth are the sound-track of life. Most of us have grown up with the movies, plays and events that all have music as a part of it. Music is powerful deep inside our brains for lots of reasons. Who doesn’t melt at their favorite love song? Who doesn’t have a sense of pride when the gold metal is being given with the national anthem being played? Who doesn’t feel sad when the funeral music is played and the bells toll? I think music is the primary language of emotion–before we can even speak and deeper than we can express verbally. The great thing is the diversity in our styles and types of music–each person can find the form that pleases and speaks to them.

    Sing on, play on and give voice to your heart!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh I know….gosh—each day i could add to my list of songs that are my sound track…from so many genres and time periods….from classical to jazz to musical theater to big band to rock to folk to opera to all kinds of patriotic music to oh gosh…its so uplifting. You are right. it is the primary language of emotion. it truly is.

Leave a Reply

