Shamrock Shakes and Unicorns

My mom’s ancestors came from Ireland and so did many of my husband’s. As a matter of fact, his grandma came over from County Mayo on the boat as a young teenager–all by herself. So, the upcoming St. Patrick’s Day (3/17) has always been special. I love to listen to Irish music, including bagpipes. and I have been known to consume my share of Shamrock shakes from McDonald’s. This time of year I have a special spring in my step ~ love “St. Paddy’s Day”Ā ~ it is almost here, hooray! Ā 

So later this week I will bring home my corned beef and cabbage to cook on Saturday~oh how perfect, corned beef & cabbage, with some carrots and onions too. ’tis enough to make me break into a jig, sing, and holler a few begorrahs too. Today I am feeling luxuriously lazy. My students are on break, and so I am catching up on a few things. St’ Pat’s week couldn’t come at a better time. I may have to watch ‘Going My Way’ [Bing Crosby and Barry Fitzgerald] today ~ or perhaps The Quiet Man [John Wayne, Barry Fitzgerald, and Maureen O’Hara]. Don’t you just love those movies? So much fun to re-visit them like old friends. Of course, beyond that, I love musicals, too ~ so Going My Way, The Bells of St. Mary’s, Brigadoon, etc would be on my faves list anyway.

Regarding music that I love this time of year would of course be Bing; also The Clancy Brothers, Celtic Woman, the Irish Tenors ~ and The Irish Rovers. Now when I was in college I knew an amazing priest. He loved to collect unicorns and tell us stories of unicorns and lovely times. He had been an English major undergrad~ so he loved a good story. He wrote a weekly column for the college newspaper and a couple of books, too. Around that time I fell in love with lovely stories ~ in a new and special way. As a result of all that, I loved the Unicorn Song by The Irish Rovers. I am embedding that here for your enjoyment.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Shamrock Shakes and Unicorns

  1. Happy St Paddy’s day! As a former New Yorker, I always miss the celebrations and food of St Paddys’s day but still remember to wear my green though. Enjoy!

  2. AlohaKarina says:

    OMG! I saw the Irish Rovers when I was little…about 5 years old I think. We LOVED the Unicorn, but do you remember the song about the windup toy? Something like this: “It goes zip when it spins, pop when it stops whirr when it stands still. I never knew just what it was, and I guess I never will…”

    Thanks for a great memory!!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh I LOVE that song [The Marvelous Little Toy is the title, I believe; Peter, Paul and Mary recorded it too]. I love that song—and it always makes me cry in the final verse. [the mark of an awesome movie or song is that it makes us cry a bit, right?}

      • AlohaKarina says:

        Yes! I found it on iTunes, too! Yay! There are two Irish Rovers versions, but the right one (“right”, ha ha) is the older one. There is a newer, 2011 version, but it doesn’t sound right. I plan to buy that one. My brother went to see the Irish Roves again a few years back, and they forgot the song! He asked them about it later and they said they didn’t even remember the words. Since then it was re-released (that 2011 version I mentioned), so I guess they figured it out. šŸ™‚

  3. auntyuta says:

    Very happy song, this Unicorn Song. Thank you for sharing and Happy St.Patrick’s Day!

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Yep, I bought my corned beef and cabbage today–my mouth is already watering!! I may get some Irish Soda Bread too, if the weather cooperates for me to walk up to the store. Ah yes, “Brigadoon”–it doesn’t take much for me to break into “How Are Things In Gloccomorra?” Can’t spell it, but you know it–I usually cheat big-time, and ask my old college friend, “how are things in guacamole?” It’s lame–but always makes her laugh! (I have some Scotch-Irish in me, so I’ve been told–does that count, I wonder?) God bless you abundantly.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Love that song—and I go all jiggy when I hear ‘go home with bonny Jean’….I am so glad St. Patrick’s Day is in March! Isn’t that a smart time to have it? Right when everyone is itching for spring!!

  5. May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

    My Roman Catholic Irish Nana’s blessing heard from her lips any time you were departing. For five minutes, five days, or five years. It did not matter. I sure miss her.

  6. Yes, indeed, you really are getting into the spirit. We will be in Vegas over the weekend and one of the things on my “to do” list is to find the Irish bar that was supposedly built in Ireland, dismantled and brought over…I don’t think Vegas will feel like County Cork, but I can pretend! I’m good at that! I must admit I have never had a Shamrock Shake…maybe this year šŸ™‚ Debra

Leave a Reply

