…which is infinite, which is yes… now

Hooray. It is Saturday. I have had a busier than usual few weeks. My husband traveled for work and was out of town for about 2 weeks. During that time, my son and I toiled to exhaustion on a freelance job. Then we both had to catch up with our other responsibilities this past week. My students had midterms this week; that involved some extra tutoring sessions. Plus, my beloved brother-in-law came into town for a few days and stayed with us. Now THAT was a real treat. He is a tremendous guy – witty, kind, loving, insightful, and just a joy.

[My in-laws are all so doggone wonderful. My husband’s family and his extended family are such a great bunch of people. and my brothers’ wives and their families are great, too.]

This weekend, at last, my sweet husband and I may even have a date night! Despite the chaos in the world, and the ravages of the economy, we are still here. We are still standing. sometimes we may feel staggered by the punches life hits us with. The bell rings for a break and we stagger to our corners, don’t we. But after that, we come out swinging again. This weekend I plan to have some fun in addition to the requisite chores. Come Sunday night, I want there to have been laughter. Oh, beloved laughter.

I am so thankful to God for this week and the past few weeks. Although I was beyond exhausted at times, He kept me from being cranky and negative. He kept me going, and He is restoring my health. Other than being tired, I am fine.  The workload of the freelance position made me pretty sick. Yeah~at least I put a stop to it. Years ago I would have just kept doing it….despite the warning signs of a racing heart. Merely signs I needed to stop pretending to be wonder woman.

anyway. I thank  you Lord for skipping beside me and keeping my heart light.

“i thank you God for this most amazing day, 
for the leaping greenly spirits of trees,
and for the blue dream of sky
and for everything which is natural,
which is infinite, which is yes” ~ e.e. cummings

the door is open to a myriad of possibilities; i just have to keep trying.... even when i don't want to.


About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to …which is infinite, which is yes… now

  1. We should always be grateful for family together time Kate and I too have been extra bus with work and grandchild.. Ohhhh such a lovely thing being a grandparent.. and so know that feeling of a few days off to chill and relax together..
    Sending you some extra energy via the airwaves to help you along..
    Love and Gratitude ~Sue xx

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Hi Kate! I’m praying for the weekend to be all that you dream–glad that you’re resting a bit and getting your strength back, and very glad you and your husband will have a date!! And, I haven’t read e e cummings in ages! Sending love from your Caddo sis!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Caddo~ sending buckets of love and prayers for grace-filled days and nightss to you. Remember in the late 60s and early 70s when e.e. was all the rage? I had a poster (that became quite tattered over the years). It was the first poster I put up on every dorm room wall. It was magenta with a big daisy on it and said in white letters “i thank heaven someone’s crazy enough to give me a daisy”~~and it had a picture of a daisy on it. the think finally shred. 🙂 [i had a magenta scatter rug to match, of course!]

  3. reneeboomer says:

    Have a wonderful weekend Kate. I am happy to hear you may have a “date” with Hubby. Precious memories and so important. 🙂

  4. Take time to smell the roses and enjoy the love of your life!

  5. I bet there are many, many people who would admire and covet your relationships with your in-laws. Good for you! And good for them! :o)

Leave a Reply

