Don’t Kill the Dream

“Don’t kill the dream; execute it”. Remember~listen to the uplifting. Toss the negative out the window. Open the blinds and drapes. Let in the joy. A little over a year ago I started this blog. I was tired of negativity and pessimism. I reflected upon all the inspiring people who made a huge difference in my life throughout my life. They weren’t famous; they lived lives of love and giving in their own little ways. Β I realized that I could do a bit more of that than I had been doing. I figured at a bare minimum I could inspire my own self!

Today I am thrilled. I have posted 641 posts in about a year. Yeah~ I TOLD you I was wordy, right? Whew! It is so lovely to be able to express what is in my heart and on my mind. It is a wonderful venue for reaching out. It is good. I have always been a writer. My most treasured activities in school involved writing (whether for research projects, literature analysis, or creative writing) and giving presentations.

I dragged neighborhood kids home to play school. Strangely, though, it never once occurred to me to be a part of my school newspaper. Go figure; when I was in elementary school I wrote a little book for my town’s library and brought it to the children’s librarian so she could shelve it. that is how I thought ALL the books got there. she never told me any different and she shelved it and circulated it. But newspapers? It didn’t occur to me to consider writing for one.! Maybe because my favorite characters in the books I read were authors of books, not newspaper columnists. Perhaps that is why working on the school newspaper never crossed my mind. Speech and debate team, yeah. Who knows, maybe there was a super-cute guy on the debate or speech team!!

I always wrote and always will write. Character development, plot development, fictional story writing—those things I have not a real clue how to do well. Poetry? No clue how to do that. But stories about my life, people that touch(ed) my life? Yeah….messages of optimism…yeah…..

So on I write. Writing is a joy. I like to imagine my words and posts like little carrier pigeons. They fly about and stop to visit whoever clicks on my message or blog. Β Even though I have largely been surrounded by supportive people throughout my life, negative messages and people have smacked me around at times. You know how that goes~sometimes the ugly messages stick for way too long. People tend to try to label people and events. We all do–it helps us organize the chaos in our minds. Yet we grow and change and evolve. sometimes people who have known you a long time tend to discount or ignore your changes. That is one of the wonderful things about the blogging community. They seem to understand the immediacy. They understand and accept what you have to say. It helps you know that you can change and be welcomed with open arms. When I was an underclassman in college, I went through a difficult time emotionally. Some people that had known me a long time wanted me to stay weak and needy. They didn’t want me to spread my joy. At that time, Ricky Nelson’s song Garden Party came out. Boy did I identify with it at that time. Today I see that I have been executing [meaning making it happen, not killing] my dreams all along.

On the rare days when I have wondered why some people cannot see this part of me, I remember Ricky Nelson’s song! And I realize, walking with God has kept me in the light. Negative Nancys may capsize my boat upon occasion; but God is immediately at my side.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Writing and Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Don’t Kill the Dream

  1. fgassette says:

    I so enjoy your blog. Don’t know how we connected but we did and I have enjoyed every post. And Ricky Nelson is right ” Can’t please everyone, so you gotta please yourself.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I;m glad we did too! We know we are “getting it right” when we please God~ and that is how we please ourselves, of course. I enjoy your blog too—your photography is wonderful, and so are your words.

  2. reneeboomer says:

    OH Memories! Ricky Nelson singing “Garden Party”……… Great post! πŸ™‚

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    That’s amazing the writing you did in a year…wow! Congrats and thanks so much for all you do to make blogging an inspirational world for so many! Blessings, Susan

  4. “I like to imagine my words and posts like little carrier pigeons. They fly about and stop to visit whoever clicks on my message or blog.” Love that. Me, too. Glad to see these parts of you on your blog. : )

  5. auntyuta says:

    Too right: ‘You can’t please everyone . . . .’ About pleasing yourself, many people don’t seem to know how to do this initially. It may take some effort to learn to do it without any guilt feelings. Often we may feel we need some guidance. I agree if you have the feeling you’re ‘walking with God’ this is very reassuring.
    I’m glad you’re writing, Kate. I love your blogs! Thank you for sharing.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Uta—i am glad you are writing, too! God’s guidance will see us through so many storms. He sends us guidance through others, too. At least He sends guidance to me in many forms“may we always be open and wise enough to recognize His voice!

      • auntyuta says:

        Very wise words, Kate. TY
        When I do something I feel is right for me, I feel I do what God wants for me and I feel happy and at peace. To see what’s right for me I sometimes need the guidance of others.. Different people may give you different advice. So you have to go into yourself to find out what God really wants of you!

  6. Writers write….so write

  7. Terri O.A. says:

    That is a lot of posts Kate. Prolific!! I’ve enjoyed each one that I read. God Bless you Kate!

  8. Caddo Veil says:

    You know I love this! “Execute” the dream–wow!! So anyhow, I’m here to give you a couple more awards that you may already have–but I’m just generous! Come see me! God bless you.

  9. I am impressed with your posting prowess! You are a very dedicated writer. I think writing in a blogging community is very empowering. We can openly be ourselves without fear of criticism. At least not to our faces. LOL! Keep it up, Kate. Where will you be a year from now? Isn’t that fun to think about? Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Debra—I have been dedicated to it–and i wonder how much i will write in the next year without getting repetitive. Thanks for the encouragement—you are such an uplifting friend and blogger.

  10. misswhiplash says:

    Kate you are a Blessing in Disguise….Like you i write straight from my heart, warts and all! There are those who are critical but you takes the rough with the smooth. Not everyone can agree with everything that it said.
    Having said that there are those who have a mean streak and seem to derive pleasure from ‘pushing one down’…I know that they are out there but as yet I have not had any nasty comments that would upset me.
    You keep on dreaming , and dreams will carry you far and wide just as long as you go on believing in those dreams

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You too, Patrecia! I love the uplifting, heartwarming comments. People have been iincredibly kind to me. What warms my heart even more is seeing folks being kind to each other… I will keep on dreaming—you do so too, okay?

  11. Mona says:

    Your writing touches on universal themes. I just discovered your blog today and look forward to reading much more.

  12. Speech and debate? You did speech and debate? Tell me why I’m not surprised . . . πŸ˜€

    • Kate Kresse says:

      All in high school. Freshman year drama club ~ was in a play. {The Adventures of Tom Sawyer]. Sophomore year ~ debate team. Junior and senior year ~ speech team ~ I did extemporaneous speaking. [I know, quite a shock πŸ˜‰ ]

      • I only meant I should have known since I also did drama/debate in high school . . . are you sure you are you and I am me? πŸ˜‰

        • Kate Kresse says:

          LOL~ so hard to believe, since we are such shrinking violets!! It was like a dream come true, wasn’t it? A school activity involving geting up in the front of the room and speaking….sigh..what could be better??and no i am not sure that you are you and I am me…we might be the same person! have you ever seen both of us in the same place? Nope, neither have I. That’s it ~~ we are blog-o-twins

Leave a Reply

