Goal!!!!!!!!

I was thinking about my son’s elementary school years this morning. He loved playing soccer and basketball. He loved the fast paced action of those sports. I have been known to say he walked (completely unassisted) at 10 months and 5 days. At 10 months and 12 days, he ran. He loved the feel of the wind on his face when he ran. Since he was so fast and his footwork was deft they often put him at midfielder so he could play both up and back. I, of course, thoroughly enjoyed watching him dash up and down that field.

In his high school years he didn’t play sports. But he still loves to run, even today. These days it isn’t soccer or basketball; it is running laps.

His goals have had an ebb and flow over the years. So have mine. Through it all, though, he and I have continued to be writers. A couple of weeks ago we had a short-lived stint as free-lance researchers and writers. As it turned out, the pace of it was beyond what either of us could handle. We had to step away from the job.

But we each discovered something. My son discovered what conditions are necessary in order for him to turn out the work that is at the quality level he demands of himself.

I discovered what sorts of demands and conditions enhance my creativity and keep my mental and physical health where they need to be. I learned which things help me be a good tutor, and which things hinder that. So, my son and I each achieved our goals. I have discovered in a little over a year of blogging that there are things and topics that I love to write about. The things I write lighten my heart, bring me joy, and even bring some joy to others. That, in and of itself, is a dream come true for me. I learn when I write. I learn from the comments people leave on my blog posts. I learn from the blogs I follow. I have a way to express my voice.

That IS a life-long goal. It is a goal that I did not know how to achieve. Yet a path opened to me. I have yet to decide what else I will do with my creative talents in addition to this blog. Publish in book form? Maybe. Get my charcoals back out? Maybe. Learn more about working with my digital point and shoot? Maybe. Time will tell. God will continue to lead my heart. It is nice to know that the outlet I have~ my lovely Believe Anyway blog ~ is a lovely cottage by the sea for me.   

Thanks for reading this today. Despite or because of what you are going through, always remember: Believe Anyway.

“What you get by achieving  your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals” ~ Henry David Thoreau

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Goal!!!!!!!!

  1. jelillie says:

    I love that last quote! What am I becoming Lord?

  2. Gilly Gee says:

    You’re a woman after my own heart Kate.

  3. You have put my thoughts out on this post, thanks!

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Kate, I was almost weepy again, reading this. What attracted me to your blog from the first, was the title–Believe Anyway struck the wonderful vital chord in me that, having waited a lifetime to feel “zest for living” (due to God’s miraculous supernatural deliverance a year ago), I no longer had to listen to naysayers–past or present. Today is what we have–why not believe what God says, that with Him, NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE! Dream big and be happy, no matter what!! And as you know, the Ripple Effect is so powerful–it just keeps blessing and filling to bless some more! Now THAT is living! God bless you abundantly today, Sister. love, Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It amazes me each day to see God’s graces, blessings and comfort flowing through our world. I am awestruck by the steadfast faith of those in the midst of suffering. I am amazed by the generosity of spirit and of heart in all I encounter here. You are very right…This is REALLY living. Even the suffering ones reach out….it is a wondrous thing. God bless you a hundredfold too, sister—love, Kate

  5. Aw Kate, this post uplifted me. Many thanks. My own children are young still but they already show signs of taking after me, so I identified with the discussion above concerning your son.

  6. Very nice! Love the quote and your musings. I’m thankful for blogging too, even though I’m having a difficult time keeping up………..

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know what you mean!! I am having a tough time keeping up, too! I subscribe to a lot of blogs—and I love seeing every post. But some days I don’t keep up at all!

  7. I love your gentle reminders.

Leave a Reply

