Family Construction

Don’t you find that all kinds of little things go into the building of something magnificent? It happens stitch by stitch or brick by brick. It takes time…but it is so very worth it. Then when you look back over a long period of time you can see how the connections were laid in place and strengthened.  I took a semester of architectural history in college. You know, studying arches and buttresses and all of that. I was thinking about that today.

I thought about what our building material is when it comes to family building. Our building material is moments and hours. It is song and words, listening and sharing. It is hugging and praying. It is laughter. It is a shoulder to cry on it is correction and encouragement. I wrote a 2/18 post about it that just got posted today. Here is the link for it. https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/how-was-your-day-dear/. It is an example of some of the lovely building material that  we can use to construct our  families.

Bill and Gloria Gaither had a song called “Kids Under Construction” that I always liked. I think in our gigantic family of humanity, we are all still under construction. We are structures that can continue to grow, be strengthened, and become even more glorious. May the families and friendships you are building continue to grow.

“Kids Under Construction”

by Bill Gaither and Gary Paxton

Refrain:

Kids under construction –
Maybe the paint is still wet.
Kids under construction –
The Lord may not be finished yet.

We’re more than just accidents without the cause;
We’re more than just bodies and brains.
God made us on purpose; we’re part of a plan.
He cares and He knows us by name.

Refrain.

Now, mister, I know that I get in your way;
I’m noisy and just bug you so.
But there’s lots of questions I just have to ask
If I’m ever going to know.

Refrain.

Dear Jesus, please make me more patient and kind,
And help us to be more like You.
And make room for all other children of Yours,
For they are still growing up, too.

Refrain.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Family Construction

  1. jelillie says:

    Thanks Kate! We are still under construction! That means its not about what it looks like in the moment but what it is going to look like when it is finished! That is so encouraging! I won’t give up! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh that is so well said! You are right, it is not what it looks like now, but what it will look like when we reach that finish line.Keep pressing on with your eyes on the prize.

  2. niasunset says:

    This is so beautiful dear Kate, you expressed so nicely, as I wrote on other related post, fascinated me. Thank you, with my love, nia

  3. Patti Kuche says:

    Permanently under construction with never ending maintenance issues if, indeed as parents, we are to be so lucky!

  4. Thankfully always under reconstruction this family of mine. Would not want us to out grow our rooms and be powerless to do anything about it.

    Lovely as usual my dear Kate. This is what you are supposed to be doing. At least for now. I so missed these kind of posts that can only come from you.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I missed writing them; is that odd to say? My heart and soul feel so good when I write. I like to imagine sitting around with all my blogging friends—with the vim and energy to talk all night…singing, talking, laughing, praying….reflecting…with the best music playing in the background….mugs of coffee, tea, or cocoa … a bottle of wine for those who wish…trays of cheese, crackers , crudites, cookies, and fruit… and yes—our re-construction continues throughout our lives. you are so right.

  5. I remember that song! I taught a children’s church choir “way back then” and that was a popular song. But I still think of it sometimes…the fact that we are ALL under construction. Families shift and change with each stage, and require a whole new set of construction tools! 🙂 Debra

  6. Kate Kresse says:

    Still have the LP with the kids singing on there with Bill and Gloria…saw my son through many tough days…

  7. How great the kindness of God that all of us who survived had something that saw us through the tough days!

  8. jeanette says:

    Thank you so much for having the words to this song. I’ve looked everywhere and it’s true we are all still under construction. God Bless and again thank you….

Leave a Reply

