Dawn Salutation

I am still playing a bit of catch-up! The post is dated 2/25—but I am writing it in a dash to “catch up” on 2/27. When I think of dawn I think of many things. The first thing I think of is if I see any pre-dawn moments it i because I was up all night. there are times I wake up without an alarm clock as the sun is coming up. But sometimes it takes me a bit longer. Another thing I think of at times (when I turn on my soundtrack in my head that covers decades of music–is Helen Reddy singing “Delta Dawn”. This post has nothing to do with her. I also have a cousin named Dawn…this post isn’t about her, either.

With that out of the way, here IS what it is about. It is about the joy that comes in the morning. We have a gift of a new day. The treasure hunt for the hidden and obvious blessings and joys can begin anew. Are you ready? What was the obvious blessing you received today? If you, like me, have a day every now and then that seems devoid of blessings, well—perhaps it is a day when God is letting us catch our breath and re-group. He is funny like that, isn’t He?

I was perusing a poetry anthology that I have at home. There is a section in the book called Dawn and Dusk. Obviously that is the theme for the poems in the section. The poem below is from the Sanskrit. It is lovely, heartfelt, and poignant. Frankly, one of the reasons I love this poem besides its underlying message is that I just love the word salutation. One year in school we had a unit on proper letter writing skills. Not handwriting, but personal letters, business letters, formal letters, etc. In the unit we wrote a letter and used the term “Greetings and Salutations” ~ I was over the moon about that expression.

THE SALUTATION OF THE DAWN ~~ From the Sanskrit

Listen to the Exhortation of the Dawn!       

National Geographic photo of scarlet tanager. Handsome, isn't he?


Look to this Day!
For it is Life, the very Life of Life.
In its brief course lie all the
Verities and Realities of your Existence;
The Bliss of Growth,
The Glory of Action,
The Splendor of Beauty;
For Yesterday is but a Dream,
And Tomorrow is only a Vision;
But today well Lived makes every
Yesterday a Dream of Happiness, and every
Tomorrow a Vision of Hope.
Look well therefore to this Day!
Such is the Salutation of the Dawn.
~   ~ ~

Each day contains the beginnings of splendor, growth, glory, a gift straight from God to us. We are to re-gift that through how we conduct ourselves. I believe that is what He expects. I pray today is Blessed and filled with wondrous moments. I know we will be blessed–my faith and optimism tells me that is so.

Each day, person, and moment is a gift to treasure

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dawn Salutation

  1. fgassette says:

    The Salutation of the Dawn is a great read. Thank you for sharing. Must remember this one.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Kate–we must truly be sisters, as I share a love for that same “greetings and salutations” thing! I doubt they teach all that good stuff we learned, today…sad. And I love your optimistic outlook, which I would likely not have appreciated prior to my epiphany a year ago–God’s timing is excellent, never too early–and thankfully, never too late!! What a beautiful and blessed day it is, indeed!!

  3. This was another great poem, Kate, one I wish I’d had access to when I was teaching my high school English kids. What a great one to force them to memorize! I would have done that.
    I also like “Morning Has Broken”, a hymn not in very many hymnals. Have you heard it? One made popular in the 70’s by Cat Stevens, if I remember right. Not too often a hymn becomes popular with the young crowd, eh? But it is good.

  4. Kate Kresse says:

    Heard of it, oh yeah!!! Love it!!! We used to play it at guitar mass. I love Cat Stevens….and that song was superb…I almost included it in this post, as a matter of fact! I already have it in my draft for the 2/24 catch up post :-)….Great minds think alike.

Leave a Reply

