Cat Morning

Dawn—by Paul Laurence Dunbar~~

“An angel, robed in spotless white,
Bent down and kissed the sleeping Night.
Night woke to blush; the sprite was gone.
Men saw the blush and called it Dawn”.

Angel : Angel Stock Photo

I absolutely love that imagery…..the angel, the blushing, the dawn….. If you are reading this in the morning, good morning. I hope today is full of promise for you, and that you slept peacefully. If you didn’t, I pray that God strengthens you for the day ahead anyway. If this is a different time of day—I hope the reflection helps, encourages, and uplifts you anyway.

Sunrise_beach : Sunrise over Atlantic ocean, Miami Stock Photo

Once again, this is actually a catch-up post. I was tied up with a freelance position from the 16th through the 24th of February. By the 22nd I was swamped and extremely sleep deprived. As a result, I did not do my usual posts on the 23rd, 24th, and 25th. Yesterday and today I am filling in that li’l old gap. Since during my stint as freelancer I pulled multiple all-nighters.

She looks as wiped out as I felt!

I saw a lot of dawns and early mornings. Now that that is behind me I am contemplating the wonderful hope and promise God sends with each dawn.  We get 24 hours each time. Hopefully some hours are spent sleeping. That means our gift back to God of our day at day’s end will be just right. But for beginning the day I offer the lyrics to one of my favorites recorded by good old Cat Stevens….It is called Morning Has Broken. when I was in high school and college we used to sing it at church. The tune is wonderful; the words prayerful.  It was on his Tea for the Tillerman album, among other places.

Morning Has Broken –originally from a Scottish Gaelic song. recorded by Cat Stevens years later

Morning has broken like the first morning
Blackbird has spoken like the first bird
Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
Praise for them springing fresh from the world

Sweet the rains new fall, sunlit from Heaven
Like the first dewfall on the first grass
Praise for the sweetness of the wet garden
Sprung in completeness where His feet pass

Mine is the sunlight, mine is the morning
Born of the one light, Eden saw play
Praise with elation, praise every morning
God’s recreation of the new day

Morning has broken like the first morning
Blackbird has spoken like the first bird
Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
Praise for them springing fresh from the world. ~~

May your day and your tomorrow be lovely. May hope and optimism soothe your heart.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cat Morning

  1. I so love Cat Stevens.

    Note: We had an all white male cat that lived until he was almost 17. His name was Boo. He had never been an outside, cat, he was completely deaf.

  2. Small, small world it is, even though Its a Wide World out there….

Leave a Reply

