Good Morning! Or as Shakespeare Would Say, Good Morrow..

Although this article is dated the 23rd, I wrote it on the 27th. I am one of those rare birds that can either be a morning person or a night owl. Actually, these days the hard part is falling asleep and staying asleep. I am CERTAIN it has nothing to do with my coffee consumption, right? In the past week I have seen multiple consecutive sunrises because I worked all night. I know, doing What? Am I crazy? I took on a freelance writing assignment….i thought it would take me about 4 hours a day… I have no idea, in retrospect, why I thought that. Moving at top speed, if I am assigned 8 articles that I know a bit about, it takes me nearly 2 hours per article. I have no idea why it is that slow—but it is. The next day there are 6 to 8 more articles. I am coming face-to-face with my own limitations. I will have to stop. I just need to hold on and finish the week. They got hit with a big order, and I cannot in good conscience stop mid-week. But I will move on and recapture my sanity. I must. That is on top of my tutoring. {now you know why this post was written after the fact}. From the cardiac issues I had a year ago, I can tell it is going on again. Not good. I will be ok if i step away. That I know.

Now, back to the point of my post! I was looking around for a poem about how lovely morning can be. I find that if I begin my day with some prayer and quiet reflection, it helps set the pace for the entire day.  I am including a photo of sunrise over my yard. 

It is from awhile ago. My other computer with tons of pictures in it crashed. Until I have the time and budget to get the stuff off that disk, there it will sit. Hopefully in the next few weeks I can take a bunch of photos and upload them. The poem below is by a poet I just love—Longfellow… I grew up with parents that read us poetry. Longfellow, Stevenson, Kipling to name a few….. Enjoy the poem—I hope you enjoy(ed) your day.

DAYBREAK –Henry Wadsworth Longfellow  

A wind came up out of the sea,
And said, “O mists, make room for me!”

It hailed the ships, and cried, “Sail on,
Ye mariners, the night is gone!”

And hurried landward far away,  
Crying, “Awake! It is the day!”

It said unto the forest, “Shout!
Hang all your leafy banners out!”

It touched the wood-bird’s folded wing,
And said, “O bird, awake and sing!”

And o’er the farms, “O chanticleer,
Your clarion blow, the day is near!”

It whispered to the fields of corn,
“Bow down, and hail the coming morn!”

It shouted through the belfry-tower,     
“Awake, O bell! proclaim the hour.”

It crossed the churchyard with a sigh,
And said, “Not yet! in quiet lie”

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Morning! Or as Shakespeare Would Say, Good Morrow..

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Good morning, Kate!! Simply gorgeous–I love the pink sunrise photo you took! And I love love love the poem! Now that I know about the cardiac issue I’ll be fretting over you, SIs (and praying–yeah, I can do that too, multi-tasking)!! God bless your day abundantly.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Ah–i don’t see the need to fret…Now that I removed myself from the impossible situation, balance is returning. I just need to catch up my chores and add my walks/exercise back. I learned a year ago I HAVE to attend to myself–not just everyone else. I have to be on my list of priorities!!Thanks for the prayers…we will pray for each other.

  2. Great poem by a great author. Lovely sunrise, too, of course! Take care of my other self, y’hear? 🙂

  3. Love your taste in word artists. I see no reason why coffee should make any difference. ; )
    I am awake for so many sunrises that I am kicking myself now for becoming so lackadaisical about them.
    You & Longfellow have my gratitude. .

Leave a Reply

