How was your day, dear?

When I was a kid, my mom was home with us full time. I looked forward to seeing her each day when I walked home. I never took the school bus, and I never had a ride home. We always lived between a half a mile from school to a mile from school. Just a nice little stretch of the legs. Anyway, at the end of my hike, there she would be. She would have some kind of healthy snack form me and for my brothers. I’d sau “hi mom” andshe’d say “hi, honey. how was your day, dear?”

Oh how i loved to hear that. It made my day complete. I would tell her the ups and downs of the day. We;d talk about what I learned. We’d talk about who I saw throughout the course of the day. We’d talk about life….and then I would get on with my homework and chores. Or I’d head to my dance class. Regardless–my little oasis/respite had strengthened me on the tough days and continued to gladden my heart on the joyous days.

When I was in high school my mom joined a couple of bridge groups that met in the afternoons. So somedays she wasn’t there when I got home. It felt so very strange and lonely; I complained to her. She said that she thought I had reached an age when I could wait a couple of hours to hear her ask the magical “how was your day, dear” question. She was right, of course. But I still cherished it the most when she was there…waiting for me…

I still look forward to her calls, her questions and kindness. And so, I pass it forward. I say~~ how was your day, dear?

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How was your day, dear?

  1. Patricia says:

    Hi, Kate –
    I was trying to find a way to email you directly, but could not, so decided to add my comment here. I really enjoyed this post, but did it get cut off at the end? This is what I see:

    “I still look forward to her calls, her questions and kindness. And so, I pass it forward. I say~~ how was your day, dear?

    When my son

    whe”

    You might want to check it out.

    Patricia
    P.S. My email is: madley (AT) cogeco (DOT) ca
    Would you mind sending me your email address, please?

  2. Lovely post! You passed it on without the “hi honey”. Smiles. I love this post so much! Work has taken over the order of the day and most kids don’t know what a mother’s love feels like nowadays. I would love to have kids that would enjoy the love of their parents and regularly hear this question from me and wifey: “how was your day?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      it meant so much to me that mom was there. of course, back then, most moms were there. we all just took it for granted that mom would be there. It was important to me to do that for my son. Incredibly important.

  3. My view is not adding the last part that Patricia’s has. Just so you know.
    It stops with How was your day Dear?

    Thanks for asking Honey. My day was filled with messages from Spirit telling me to slow down. That I was getting too smug. When I wasn’t listening my body had a way of saying;
    “Whoa it up Girl!”
    I am sporting a fashionable sweet black splint on my left very sprained ankle.

    I’m so happy to find you here when I wake up. Knowing that Kate’s at home is comforting to me.
    Thank you Dear for the gift of you~

    • Kate Kresse says:

      So good to hear from you. Thanks, it’s good to be “home”. I fixed the problem with the post; I had started a new thought and my mind wandered off…then i clicked publish without checking what i wrote! But I’m sorry about your ankle. What are you up to today, then?

      • Going to a class. Have a bestie that will help me carry books and such so I can just keep my foot up there just as well I decided.

        How are you doing? Are you feeling caught up from your adventure? Sleep deprived no more?

        • Kate Kresse says:

          I am rapidly catching up on my sleep. Except for 1 night in that 9-day stint, the most I got was 2 hours. so i am feeling much more human. Writing is flowing today, and i have tutoring later on. Life is good-good-good..hope your class went well.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks for the gift of your kind heart and warm friendship, too. I guess we both received the slow down message lately, right? When we heed that voice, the wards are immense.

  4. Pingback: Family Construction | Believe Anyway

  5. reneeboomer says:

    Love this post! I too was blessed to have my special momma waiting at home to greet me when I came through the door with a “Hi Honey, how was your day?” Oh how those words stay with you and touch your heart. My Momma used to sew many outfits for us kids. I loved to walk in after school and see a top and shorts that she made “just for me”. My Precious Momma is in heaven now….all these memories are “Heart Prints”. Have a great day. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      My mom sewed our clothes too—you are right; it made me feel so special to see her beautiful creations made just for us. I am glad you had the kind of mom you did. It creates such a solid foundation that you are lovable, that you have worth and value, that you deserve kindness and respect. Thanks for your comment.

  6. niasunset says:

    This is the most beautiful thing in our life, to hear these lovely words, “How was your day, dear?”
    Oh, dear Kate, you are so beautiful, I loved your meaningful sharing. But made my eyes in tears too, I had never heard this in my childhood… There was always problem in our home… My Grandmother she always told me that how I became such a girl with full of love and kindness in this fighting home. When I was a young mother I knew what to be… everything in the past was a kind of guide to me, and I tried to be a mother to my son which I didn’t have in my life. Thank you dear Kate, you did great, how I wish everybody to read this. Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh Nia–you are so profound. I am certain that with your giving and loving heart that you have created a home for your son that is loving, life-affirming, kind, hope-filled and joyous. The fires of your childhood turned you to gold. How blessed your son is to have such an amazing mama. Blessings and happiness to you, too–love, Kate

  7. jelillie says:

    A beautiful post Kate and a beautiful memory!

Leave a Reply

