Continue the Climb

Do you get discouraged after awhile when you are trying to accomplish or complete something? I know that in the area of follow-through, there are days and times in my life when I have zero follow-through. I just want to stop. Today is one of those days. It is Wednesday—and my students have had me hopping. I feel worn out. I could really use a few days off—preferably to stay in a little inn on the beach by the ocean. Mentally I will go to the ocean….beautiful.Β Β 

There are definitely things, circumstances, and people who give me strength for the journey and the climb. Encouraging words, people, actions, music, programs, blogs, prayer, all of those strengthen me. God strengthens me. But some days, despite being surrounded by all of that [and I am] I just feel lazy!

My mom used to urge us forward with these words “let’s just put in a good half-hour’. She would say that about chores, homework, exercise, or whatever else was at hand. I would at times kind of stomp around or pout or grumble, and say something along the lines of “oh sure, you say put it in a good half hour” but it ALWAYS turns into hours. {I was exaggerating, of course}.

Sometimes it did turn into hours. That happened either because I would become absorbed in the task and forget the time, or I would stall and drag my feet and turn a quick task into a lengthy one. The thing to discern is which is true on a given day. I need to decide what exactly I am avoiding? Chores? Paperwork? Phone calls? All of the above? Oh yeah, all of the above. Time to face the music :-).

the door is open to a myriad of possibilities; i just have to keep trying.... even when i don't want to.

I have two quotes to light the path today: “Always continue the climb. It is possible for you to do whatever you choose, if you first get to know who you are, and are willing to work with a power that is greater than ourselves to do it”.–Ella Wheeler Wilcox.

Here is the second quote. “Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later“.–Og Mandino.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Continue the Climb

  1. Gilly Gee says:

    Just keep holding on Kate!

  2. Kate Kresse says:

    I will, Gilly! Just like the kitten on the poster I used to have; he was dangling in mid-air from a rope with a knot on the end. The kitten looked like it was screaming. The words on the poster said “if you feel like you have reached the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on”. I had that in my dorm room my freshman year. It saw me through some tough time πŸ™‚

  3. Cathy Monteiro says:

    Kate,

    I feel for you. Now here’s my two cents: Fly Lady (flylady.com) has taught me to set the timer for 15 minutes–much more bare able than half an hour! Similarly, the task is done, OR I’m absorbed. I do this for my second graders and challenge them to beat the clock. Similarly, give yourself a break– reward yourself with either a chore that’s less painful–like checking email–or with a guilty pleasure–like reading a chapter in a book when you’ve scratched off something on your to-do list. Finally, realize that sometimes you need to slip under the covers and take a mental health day. You have been battling demons for awhile now. Perhaps it’s time to be kind to yourself, and surrender and rejuvenate.

    Thinking of you.

    Cathy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      gosh i forgot all about flylady.com. I used to follow that one regularly. i think 15 minutes is a good idea for me this week. …and some reading. I always love losing myself in a book. on the schedule for today is going to be going to the treadmill with my son. thanks Cathy—love you and miss you

  4. cravencreativity says:

    I can so relate to this Kate. There are so many days that I have to fight through feeling like this, then there are days I just can’t. Tomorrow will be another day, some days you just need to rest your body, mind and soul… Hope you feel better soon…
    Take care
    Karen

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Karen. Thursday often looks brighter than Weds when I am feeling that way. As usual, it turns out I was just tired and overwhelmed. Not by any particular burden—just a little behind in everything, yet wanting to be instantly caught up. :-). Silly me, eh?

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    Everyone needs some down time to rest and recharge. I also hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  6. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks Kate. It is easy to get discouraged. Even Jesus took time to get away for rest. B Blessed!
    Mike

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It would be so lovely to walk out my door, be on the beach at the Sea of Galilee, and hop in the boat with Jesus and row away for awhile. I know I can do that in prayer—-but it would be so lovely to do it in person for just a half hour.

  7. arbohl says:

    Exactly what I needed to hear after a terrible, terrible day. Thank you for being a light. And I’m sure you will get out of this lazy day, avoidance funk πŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I’m glad I could help, but I am truly sorry you had a terrible, terrible day. I hope that Thursday will be better for you. You are in my prayers. Blessings….and the avoidance seems to be fading πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, Kate, I know, I know! πŸ˜‰

  9. Hit that wall, huh? A good mental day at the ocean is a great choice. Always works for me. Love your mom’s “Let’s just give it one good half hour!” I think that is such a good tactic! And get rid of the word lazy! You’re just incubating some new ideas! πŸ™‚ Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Debra: ‘Incubating some new ideas’…hmmm i LIKE that :-). Maybe you can’t rush genius, right? Yeah, I’ll go with that for now :-). I’m a funny duck. When I hit that wall, sometimes my reaction is to back up and run at it harder repeatedly. Of course I keep crashing into that immovable wall. At some point, I look around and realize there is a door through the wall. At that point, rubbing my head, I stagger over to the door and walk through. You’d think I’d remember that fact the next time I hit a wall….but…nope πŸ™‚

  10. Beautiful Kate. I have another quote although I cannot think for the life of me who said it. “Move over Mountain. Get out of my way!”
    By the way; so love God’s imagery, can takes us away from almost anything.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I like that, my friend. Don’t you just feel like screaming at those mountains sometimes? Boy oh boy—don’t those obstacles know that God is with me and He is mighty? Hope you are having a really good day.

      • I do Kate scream at those mountains at times when I am not turning the obstacles over to God. Reminding myself that to be lifted by His Guiding Love is all I need, that all things big and small will be my conquests in His name. In His time, not mine.
        I’m just not a very patient person sometimes.

        • Kate Kresse says:

          I hear you there. I get so impatient at times. I can picture God smacking Himself in the head and saying “Kate….shhhh–give it over”…His time is always better. always….

  11. TBM says:

    While I think it is good to keep on going most of the time, it is also true to know when you need to take some time and recharge. Keep imagining the beach….

  12. β€œAlways do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest laterβ€œ. Like you, I have my days when things gets all too much and I need a breather. The sea is my source of escape. I would ask my wife for an instant getaway even just for overnight. It’s like a healing experience and I come back all renewed. Of course there’s God and his endless help, my family’s love , my friends encouraging thoughts and prayers including my blogger friends. All of them gives me a sense of hope …Thanks for sharing a beautiful post that gives so much inspiration. God bless…

    • Kate Kresse says:

      God bless you, too. When we lived out East and were an hour and 15 minutes from the ocean, I would hop in the car and head to the beach if i was having a tough day. I’m hours from the ocean now. but we DO have a pond and riparian preserve in our town it will have to suffice. Aren’t we blessed to have so many sources of encouragement in our lives? Be blessed today

  13. I read this post yesterday on my phone, at lunchtime at work…teaching school…. it was a challenging day and your words of encouragement really helped me shift into a more tolerant and energetic state of mind…thank you.

  14. munchow says:

    Don’t we all have these day from time to time. And sometimes we are forced to keep going, other times we can afford a needed break. What I have found out, though, is that if I do give in to my impulse of sitting back and not follow-through, I feel even less satisfied. So if you can put in a good half -hour, at least for me, that might just be the right thing to get out of the mood. Your mother was very smart, wasn’t she? We all have different place to seek new inspiration. For me it’s nature or physical activity. Nothing like a run to keep me going again. Thanks for a thoughtful post. And thanks for the eloquent quotes.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Yes, my mom was and is brilliant. She is so inspiring. and you are right–the less i follow-through, the less satisfied i feel. sometimes i don’t want to exercise, either—but after i do i feel so GOOD!

  15. jelillie says:

    I love that first quote. I am willing to work with the GREATER POWER! May HE bring the will to keep going!

  16. I think we all can get discouraged at times Kate.. and feel like we are climbing an uphill battle.. But you have presented a beautiful post here which you have illustrated very well, I often feel I let people down as my time runs away with me, and I dont give them a call, or visit.. And even here in blog land I juggle with work, chores, babysitting my grandchild and at the moment decorating and I often feel those same emotions … So dont visit as often as emails get stacked of new posts and I worry about not visiting People such as your good self often enough..
    You have chosen two very apt quotes Kate.. and know this.. You are planting some Very good seeds within your garden of life.. and you share of your knowlege which are the flowers of life..
    And that my dear friend Kate is all we can do Is ” Always Do our Best”…

    Wishing you a relaxing weekend…. Love and Peace~ Sue xx

  17. Kate Kresse says:

    Sue you are always so kind and thoughtful <3. I Don't get to everyone's blogs as often as I want, either. There are only so many hours in a day…AND…those moments with your grandchild are SO precious and fleeting. Our moments with people must be grabbed when we can. We plant as many seeds as we can, hoe the weeds away, water the seedlings if we can, share when we can….and the ones that can bloom, bloom. Have a wonderful weekend, dear Sue. Life is good–and full of joyous moments and gusto.

Leave a Reply

