I Should Be Committed

I have been thinking about commitment this week. I have been keeping a really close eye and ear on discussions this week. I don’t mean discussions in the blogosphere. I mean discussions on television, in the newspapers, on Facebook. I wondered as I listened. Is there a difference to being committed to a cause or position and just having a strong opinion? Of course, we have all heard the expression “put your money where your mouth is”. That certainly happened a lot this week in various venues. But does signing petitions, writing letters to the editor, contributing money, volunteering, even occupying one place or another constitute commitment? I have spent most of my life doing some of the above (but not occupying). Is that commitment?

I saw a poem (entitled Commitment) online. It was on some blogs, on Facebook, and in a Google search. It caused me to really reflect on the meaning and implication of commitment. It told me that commitment in life is essential and what commitment could look like. After reading it and thinking about it, I could see that I AM committed. I am committed to living a life as authentically devoted to God and serving people as I can using the talents, gifts, and strengths that I have. For your edification, here is the poem.

Commitment — by Paul VanDyke of the Mary Kay Corporation

Commitment is when you have inspired yourself into the
sisterhood or brotherhood of the unashamed.

When you possess an innermost spirit and desire
When your die is cast; when your decision has been made.
When you have chosen to step over the line, stand up and be
counted and become a disciple of the determined.

When you won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away or be still.
When your past has been redeemed, when your present makes sense,
When your future is secure.

When you’re finished and done with low-livin’, light walkin’, small plannin’, smooth knees, dullin’ dreams, tamed vision, mundane talk, cheap givin’ and dwarfed goals.
When you live by faith; when you lean on your strengths;
When you walk with confidence; when you’re lifted by prayer and you’re labored by love.

When your direction is set; when your gait is fast, your goal is real,
your road is rough, your way is narrow, your companions are few,
but your guide is reliable and your mission is clear.

When you cannot be bought, compromised, deterred, lured away, turned back, deluded or delayed.
When you will not flinch in the face of sacrifice or pause in the presence of procrastination.
When you refuse to negotiate at the table of fear, ponder at the pool of popularity or meander in the maze of mediocrity.

When you won’t give up, let up, or shut up until you’ve staved up,
stored up, prayed up, and paid up, and become the person that
God intended you to be.

What you think about, you bring about.
When you are committed, that’s when you stand out from mediocrity.
When your desire dominates your doubts,
when your performance precedes your procrastination and
When your purpose in life is greater than your problems…
that’s when you have commitment!

Of course, my favorites include: ‘When you won’t give up, let up, or shut up until you’ve staved up, stored up, prayed up, and paid up, and become the person that
God intended you to be’  and ‘what you think about, you bring about; and when your purpose in life is greater than your problems…that’s when you have commitment’.

Sigh…but actually, looking back over the poem a few times—I like almost the whole thing. So, today, I wanted to pass it along to you. The poem isn’t perfect, and is a bit hyperbolic at times….but it helps me distinguish between the shrill/strident in the world and the truly committed. Yes, I should be committed—not strident. Pray for me. I wish you joy, optimism, and lovely days. 





                                 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I Should Be Committed

  1. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks for the poem. I was just thinking about the whole committment thing this last week as well. I’m about to go through some pretty major changes and while I know God will work it out, I also know that my committment to a direction will be imperitive for my success. Thanks for sharing Kate. Always enjoy coming here.
    I prayed for you as I wrote this. Have a blessed week!
    Mike

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I will pray for you and the major changes you will be undergoing. May you sense God’s abiding graces every step of the way. Would love to know where He is leading you; Walk forth boldly, Mike. God bless your week—Kate

  2. I sign petitions and support charities.. I look after those less fortunate within my job.. Commitment is doing the best you can with the things you have.. And I think so long as you try to do your best Kate then thats all anyone can do… Some may seem to do more… but do they? Giving of ourselves is a matter of just asking ourselves.. could we do more?… and if we can.. then being committed to try a bit harder or let someone who is more committed take that stand..

    I do think though as we now see so many injustices around the world… its time to add our voice.. thats why I sign petitions Etc.. I may not go out and March in Protests… But the time to sit back and do nothing is only allowing those who carry out the injustices to get away with it..We all have Free Will and just need to follow what feels right within.
    Love and Blessings to you Kate.. ~Sue x Have a great Weekend xx

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Sue–if we listen to our hearts our hearts will lead us and give us the strength to do what we can to make a difference. I think part of the frustration for me is that even when I have done all I can, it sometimes seems that nothing has changed. We, of course, can never sit back and do nothing. For “all that is necessary for evil to flourish is for good men to stand by and do nothing’.

      I hope I didn’t create the impression that petitions and supporting charities and volunteering was a bad or worthless thing. I meant that I have reached a time in my life where I need to do more than I have by doing. I don’t feel like my voice is being heard or respected through the efforts I have been doing, because the problem hasn’t changed. When it doesn’t change despite all of those efforts, I then feel like I have done nothing. Then I wonder, since things haven’t changed/improved if I was truly committed in the first place. Does that make sense?

  3. fgassette says:

    AMEN!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. I don’t think any good, or bad for that matter, has been accomplished by having opinions. Commitment is defined by action and walking the walk. This is esp true in expressing Faith.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Absolutely, Carl. Commitment only occurs in the fires of action. In faith, and everywhere else. For those who commit to God, their faith in and commitment to Him should define everything they say, think, and do.

  5. jelillie says:

    Thanks for this! I just came from a leadership meeting and we talked about this very thing. I am coming to realize that the reason I fail to commit is that being truly committed to one things mean leaving other things behind! Letting go is the hardest part of commitment for me.

  6. Gracie Sam says:

    Thanks for the inspiration Kate! Hope you have a lovely weekend 🙂

  7. I truly believe that “what you think about you bring about” so I try hard to always be a positive thinker. Thanks for this one!

  8. jakesprinter says:

    You have a Great Poem Kate awesome post my friend 🙂

  9. Kate Kresse says:

    Glad you liked it, Jake. Hope you are having a great day 🙂

  10. Madeline Lund says:

    Another thought provoking and uplifting post Kate! Thanks for your sharing of poetry. You are helping me get new appreciation for the art form. I am saving this one to savor again later!

  11. Kate Kresse says:

    Thanks Madeline :-). Sometimes a perfect poem or quote just makes my day,,,or song lyrics….Isn’t the level of creativity in our world breathtaking?

Leave a Reply

