Up the Stairs and Out the Window

“Faith goes up the stairs that love has built and looks out the window which hope has opened” — Charles Spurgeon.    

Isn’t that a lovely quote? When you actually think about stairs (the photo above is not my home) it can give you pause. When you are a little toddler and just beginning to walk, your parents walk beside you and hold your hand on the steps. You carefully hold that railing with all your might. You put one foot on the next step and then gingerly put your other foot on that same step. This goes on until you become fairly expert at it. Years later as a teen—you may dash up the stairs a few at a time. Coming down those stairs as a teen, you might fly down the bannister, or jump halfway down on the first shot, and the rest of the way on the second. You do it joyously.

Then you are older, with a baby in your arms. You walk those steps oh so carefully once again. Then you are there with your own toddler. Then you are older and trying to “get in shape” and you do the stairs many times a day, until… you are a bit rickety and have to hold that railing with all your might. One step at a time just like a toddler. But the important thing through all those stages in life is that you keep climbing.

Faith tells us it is worth it. Optimism tells us that is worth it.  When we climb up the stairs, we can see out the window to the great wide world. We can rest in the rooms upstairs. When we climb down the stairs it is worth it too. Sustenance awaits in the kitchen. The door to the great wide world awaits. The presence of hope and love (in our own home or somewhere in the world) keeps me climbing. Even when I literally fall down the steps (or up them)—which I have been known to do. Remember, my parents enrolled me in dance class when I was tiny beCAUSE I lacked gracefulness :-).

I am a perennial optimist. I will climb the steps that faith built, and see out each window and door that hope has placed before me.  Sending hugs and prayers…

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Up the Stairs and Out the Window

  1. So true and well said, I am glad I don’t have to climb stairs anymore (except when visitng my daughter in Atlanta) we gave them up when we moved to Florida years ago, now every room is on the same floor. But still…I get the message. Thanks!

  2. Terri O.A. says:

    Nice post Kate. I’ve read a lot of Spurgeon….wonderful writer…thanks for that quote.

  3. I love Spurgeon, too. And I’m definitely an optimist because I have a faith that strengthen that natural tendency. I wish sometimes I could better assist some of my friends in this journey. There are a lot of heavy hearts out there! This is lovely. Debra

  4. farouk says:

    that’s inspiring
    happy i came across your post this morning 🙂

  5. Susan Michaels says:

    absolutely a great, great word of inspiration! (I go up 4 flights of stairs daily in my walk up…and I sometimes wonder…) but the view of tree tops is why I took the place. 🙂 Thanks for this word…I read Spurgeon, but had never come across this before…

  6. Kate Kresse says:

    My dad always teased me that I was allergic to 1st floor living. During college, my dorm rooms were always on the 3rd or 4th floor (lots of stairs) and my apartments 2nd or 3rd floor. Thanks, Susan. I love looking out at the tree tops…

  7. Terri O.A. says:

    Hi Kate, in response Charles Spurgeon was a pastor in England. His mastery of language is just powerful, and a true treat just to read how he was an artist of wo rds. It should be easy to find his sermons. He was called the prince of preachers. From reading him I gathered that he was a very kind person who really cared about others. Hope this helps.

  8. rickety?
    RICKETY?!
    Hmm.
    😀

    • Kate Kresse says:

      LOL!!! That’s how my mom describes herself because she isn’t as spry as she was. She goes up and down the stairs in her house sitting down. … scooching herself from step to step. It’s a strategy she devised after too many falls. On level ground she uses a walker to keep from falling….rickety….LOL sorry if you felt insulted :-)…You DEFINITELY have the strength of 10,000 🙂

  9. Great analogy. Simple to understand faith and hope with this picture of the stairs and open window. I am in faith for healing for my father at this time. I am looking at wide open windows …

Leave a Reply

