Life’s Garden Isn’t Scary

This morning I had time for  prayer and reflection before I got ready to leave. I arrived at my computer clear-headed and in a positive mood. When I checked Facebook I found the usual argumentative and negative posts from people who  post those types of things. Then I came upon a lovely poem that gave me one of those wonderful “Cosmic Click” moments. A retreat director I knew used to call those “Godj Ya” moments. 

Be Soft

Do not let the World
make you hard.
Do not let the pain
make you hate.
Do not let the bitterness
steal your Sweetness.

Take pride that even
though the rest of the
World may disagree, you
still believe it to be a
Beautiful place.                                                            

Lately I have been feeling a bit beat up at times and in a mood to “take umbrage” at all kinds of things. God gave me a bit of a hug and a nudge this morning. He reminded me that I am His and He is my ultimate destination. Thus, it is no wonder that sometimes I do not feel like I fit in in this world. Of course I do not. I am here temporarily. I am here to do His will, not the world’s. There are and will continue to be times when His will and the world’s will run counter to each other. I must not let that throw me.

What I mustn’t do is get cynical, harsh, mean, angry, or bitter. It is human nature to be upset when you feel angry, bullied, or see others getting picked on. But to remain “in that mood” turns the flower I am created to be—into a stink weed that spreads, takes over the garden, and kills the beautiful things in the garden. It can be even more destructive than the original cruel or wrong act of the other person. How can that be? Giggle. That was the last part of the Cosmic Click.

To use an analogy, some people get “stuck” and act like weeds with harsh, strident attitudes, bringing down the mood, feelings, and self-esteem of folks they encounter. If the people who are like flowers cower and change to fit in with the weeds, they actually can transform into weeds. But if the flowers “stand strong” yet remain flowers, the flowers can spread leaving less room for the flowers. They can thrive and be sweet flowers despite the presence of the weeds. After all, if flowers couldn’t do that, there would be no flowers left. Nearly every flower garden has some weeds. So we are stronger than we realize. We can withstand the weeds. We are not alone. We have each other for shelter. So shake your seeds of joy and love today and everyday. Some will take root and we can overtake those doggone weeds as much as possible. Oh yeah—we really, really can. I am a perennial optimist…and openly or secretly, so are you.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Life’s Garden Isn’t Scary

  1. misswhiplash says:

    Reblogged this on I've been thinking about…………. and commented:
    well worth reading and taking to heart

  2. misswhiplash says:

    that is really beautiful Kate so I think I have reblogged it..I say think because I am never sure about those bits at the top…it is so beautiful , touching the heart and the soul.

    I am an everlasting flower! God is my root

  3. Mike Fisk says:

    Great post Kate. Thanks. I always enjoy your openness and honesty. Blessings!
    Mike

  4. What a beautiful poem, thanks for sharing. And this line is so true, “Nearly every flower garden has some weeds.”

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Melissa. I decided part of my problem was that I was expecting a weed-free garden. The weeds do crop up—we need to be prepared for it. ave a blessed evening.

  5. Gilly Gee says:

    Facebook foes seem to be a place where people dump a lot of negativity. Like you I’m a perennial optimist!

  6. ferragudofan says:

    thank you for this post – we all know people who are like ‘weeds’ – but thank you for reminding us to remain flowers and turn our face to the sun! 🙂

  7. oh my gosh,.. this is so awesome! Thank you for dropping by my blog… I may have never found yours if you hadn’t… isn’t that cool how that works? 😀
    “do not let the pain make you hate” great line.

  8. cravencreativity says:

    What a perfect analogy Kate. As always, I’m loving what you have to share 🙂

  9. One word….. beautiful!

  10. Gracie Sam says:

    Thank you for this post Kate, it’s beautiful. God bless and have a lovely day 🙂

  11. Lovely poem and reminder “despite it all” be a flower in this life called “a garden”.

Leave a Reply

