Don’t join the Pepsi people

Being a Baby Boomer has meant that major trends have developed within my generation. When those trends develop they look extremely popular because there are so doggone many Baby Boomers. My parents and teachers would generally stress the importance of making up my own mind, and not letting “the crowd” set the agenda for me. Thus, when I was in junior high and high school, and protests against the war were in vogue, I didn’t attend the war protests. My mom knew mob mentality could take hold quickly, and she told me to find another way to be heard. Instead, I wrote letters to my Congressman, Senators, and the President. I wrote a lot of letters. I circulated petitions. I got involved in local, state, and national elections to try to get candidates elected that I thought could effect change.

In the ensuing years my thinking on many things has evolved. In some areas of life I tend to be an ‘early adopter’ if a trend or concept looks good to me and I believe it will help change things for the better. However, in subsequent stages of the process of that same  idea becoming part of society, there have been times I stepped back from the same idea. Why? Just like a bill making its way through Congress, so too do ideas get things added on in order for more people to “buy in” to the idea. Sometimes the bill or idea or concept becomes something that is so vastly changed that it is hardly recognizable from the original  one. In those cases, I step back and part company.

An example of this occurred in the late 60s early 70s when the anti-war protestors began burning down buildings, throwing things at the police, and spitting on returning soldiers. At that point I disavowed myself of the so-called peace movement and never looked back. Violence to end violence made no sense to me. The movement had become about the leaders garnering personal power, rather than the original goals.

When groups I have been  in became negative and judgmental, I have left those groups if my efforts to redirect did not work. When friends of mine became avid partyers and drug users, we parted company. I decided I would rather have no friends and no social outlets than be a part of that. I do not want to be influenced by bullies and dangerous people. As it turned out, ultimately others made the same decisions in their lives. Those are some of the people who I associate with now. Thinkers, discerners, rock solid people who value what is right, and defend the bullied and minimized. Bullies cannot win when people stand up to them. Sometimes convincing others to join you in walking away from the bullies is all it takes to stop the bullying. If it looks like “everyone” is bullying or supporting the bullies, sometimes it is scary to stand up to the bullies. But sometimes people get brave.

It is scary and hard sometimes to  be a bit ‘on your own’ and outside the crowd. Perhaps that need to belong and loved is what makes it so difficult to separate from the crowd. But it really is true that good and beautiful ideas can become magnetic. Truth, love, and beauty win. It is hard to know when to be patient and kind, and when to walk away. I have to be able to live with myself. Even Scripture tells us there are times when we have to “shake the dust from our feet” and leave the town.

What am I trying to say? I am trying to tell my SELF to “think” before I join a movement or even a discussion. I have to figure out what is actually  being said, what that then means or implies, how I feel about it, what I can/should do about it, and then act or speak. For a Baby Boomer like me, that can be difficult. As I said, there have always been so many of us.; forming and joining groups has been a frequent hallmark of our generation. It feels weird at times to not be part of a group, only because it is easy to get out of practice. Of course, part of me has a tendency to think “hmmm if it seems like ‘everyone is doing it’ it’s probably the wrong thing to do”.

I am not saying it very clearly; I don’t mean it in a judgmental way. I mean it in a discernment way in helping me figure out when I should act or speak and what I should do. Granted, God’s way guides me and inspires me. I am speaking here of sorting through the “chatter” in my own mind. Spoken as a member of the so-called Pepsi Generation—but I generally did prefer Coca Cola. So the question is, metaphorically speaking, do i join the pepsi people? do i give the world a coke? not necessarily either. I dream the impossible dream. Does that mean I am tilting at windmills? I am a sucker for a noble cause; I am a perennial optimist.

Tilting at windmills: To dream the impossible dream

Join the Pepsi People or i'd like to give the world a coke

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Don’t join the Pepsi people

  1. Mike Fisk says:

    Great post Kate! Thanks
    Mike

  2. Terri O.A. says:

    You said it very clearly! Love love love the quote from Einstein and the photo with it. What you said is so true. If one goes against what he or she believes and compromises then it is easy to become a gray mish mash that isn’t much good for much. Good post Kate ………thanks for the read!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh i love that word ‘mish-mash’—haven’t hear that one in awhile. You are so right about compromising your beliefs. Thanks for your kind, kind words, Terri. They are a balm this morning / . Have a fabulous day 🙂

  3. TBM says:

    The world needs optimists.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It sure does! Tiggers are essential. Eeyores aren’t the realists they think they are—the disregard the possibilities in each moment. Loving reading about your travels, books you are reading, and movies you have seen. 🙂

      • TBM says:

        Thanks Kate! I love the way you put that, disregard the possibilities in each moment. It is so easy to do and yet I also think so easy to avoid.

        • Kate Kresse says:

          You’re right! We get in habits of either negative or positive thinking, don’t we? Sometimes it is just a matter of taking a different way home (figuratively and literally). Sometimes a tiny change re-organizes our thought patterns completely.

  4. Kathy says:

    Love the post! I like to look at the bright side and to smile. But I am the one usually asking “why?” and “how come?” and playing devils advocate to make others think – I don’t care what their position is I just want them to have one!. I’m never going to be sheep mindlessly joining others. It’s amazing how threatening that is to those who think we should all do the same thing the same way as they have determined to be right.

  5. Cafe23 says:

    I really love this post. What you said: “I am trying to tell my SELF to “think” before I join a movement or even a discussion. I have to figure out what is actually being said, what that then means or implies, how I feel about it, what I can/should do about it, and then act or speak.” .. is a great message. Something I think is valuable for everyone to consider doing 🙂

  6. Your mother was wise to tell you to speak your own mind, to follow what you believe in. I know its not easy to go against the tide , or not to conform to the majority’s decision or opinion, or being a “Coke” when everyone is being a “Pepsi.” In the end it’s what makes you happy and what fulfills you that matters. Even Jesus during his time followed what his heart and soul told him…he definitely wasn’t a “Pepsi.” As for being a optimist…we need a lot of those. God bless you and your family…

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You are so right. It can be so exhausting to swim against that tide—but in so doing our muscles get stronger, our character forms, and our life becomes joyous. Thanks for your (as always) kind and life affirming words. God bless you, too.

  7. arbohl says:

    I have to agree with you. It is very hard to remember that, especially when you yourself may not be sure where you lie or what you believe in. Which is why it is so important to be willing to see things for what they really are, rather than looking through rose-colored glasses.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Perhpas some of my hurts and disappointments come as a result of times when I THOUGHT i was seeing things for what they really are, but it turns out I was looking at it through rose=-colored glasses. That is a really interesting point.

Leave a Reply

